Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

I am totally in love with this amazing cupcake! I am literally eating one now as I am typing this post. Mmmm! Decadent dark chocolate cupcakes with a creamy peanut butter frosting garnished with chopped reese’s peanut butter cups! Chocolate and peanut butter has to be the best food combination ever created, Harry Burnett Reese sure knew what he was doing when he created the first reese’s peanut butter cup in 1928. I have a few other peanut butter and chocolate combination recipes on my blog- crispy peanut butter bars, buckeyes, and peanut butter chocolate chunk cookies. I can’t pick a favorite! They all taste wonderful to me! 🙂 I know that I already posted another chocolate cupcake on my blog, but when I saw this recipe I had to make them. 🙂

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients for Cupcakes:

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
  • 2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Ingredients for Peanut Butter Frosting:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 12 miniture reese’s peanut butter cups, halved

Directions:

  1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat to 350 degrees F. Line muffin pan with baking cup liners.
  2. In a medium heatproof bowl, combine butter, chocolate, and cocoa. Set bowl over saucepan containing barely simmering water; heat mixture until butter and chocolate are melted and whisk until smooth and combined. Set aside and cool until just warm to the touch.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, and baking powder; set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs; add sugar, vanilla, and salt until fully incorporated. Add cooled chocolate mixture and whisk until combined. Sift one-third of flour mixture over chocolate mixture and whisk until combined; whisk in sour cream until combined. Sift remaining flour mixture over chocolate mixture and whisk until batter is combined.
  5. Divide the batter evenly among muffin pan cups. Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center of cupcakes comes out clean.
  6. Cool cupcakes in muffin pan on wire rack for 15 minutes. Carefully lift each cupcake from muffin pan and set on wire rack. Cool to room temperature before icing.
  7. To make frosting, place the confectioners’ sugar, peanut butter, butter, vanilla and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium-low speed until creamy, scraping down the bowl as you work. Add the heavy cream and beat on high speed until the mixture is light and smooth. Place frosting into decorating bag fitted with the 1M decorating tip and approximately 1/4″ above cupcake top at a 90° angle to cupcake surface,  pipe a spiral of icing, beginning at the outer edge and working inward. Place halved peanut butter cup on top of frosting.

Source: Brown Eyed Baker

This post was featured on the Foodbuzz Top 9!

This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

  1. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  2. bigFATcook says:

    I bet these are heavenly!!! I just love them.

  3. Julie M. says:

    I can totally see why you had to make them. I have a true weakness for peanut butter cups. These cakes look perfect!

  4. Green Girl says:

    I’m drooling. peanut butter cups are my favorite this time of the year. I’ll definitely try this recipe, thanks for posting

  5. Super Congrats on making it to Foodbuzz Top 9!! Your post is awesome!!!

  6. Choco and PB are absolutely the best pair! I wish I was eating one of these while I typed!

  7. I love peanut butter cups. How I would love one of these darling cupcakes!
    *kisses* HH

  8. Pingback: Sweet Treats & Sweet Friends: Sweet & Salty Dark Fudge Brownies with Pretzel Bites and Peanut Butter Frosting + Food Blogger Awards! | okie dokie artichokie

  9. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Filling | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  10. sara says:

    I just made these, I tweaked the frosting a bit and it was delicious! I halved the recipe, and I also stuck the batter in the fridge for a few hours before I baked it and the cake was so dry, I did not like it at all. I bet the original would have been much better, but mine failed.

  11. Pingback: Beer Battered Fried Pickles | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  12. CupCriz says:

    I just made this recipe & it’s absolutely yummy!!! I’m a Reese lover & the cupcakes (without the Reese topping) blew me away! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I love your blog.

  13. Pingback: Tipple Tuesdays - Winter Brews and Chocolate Hazelnut Truffle Cake Recipe | Guilty Kitchen

  14. These look so great! Gonna have to try…

  15. Linda says:

    Hey! This recipe looks so yummy! I was wondering if you can substitute the Dutch processed cocoa with Natural coca?

    I can’t wait to try it out! Thank you so much for posting it. 😀

    • Christina says:

      Linda,
      Yes you can use regular cocoa power for these cupcakes. I hope you enjoy them, they are one of my favorites. Let me know how they turn out for you! 🙂

      • Linda says:

        I tried these Cupcakes today. 😀 I LOVE the peanut butter frosting! It’s so delicious and I’ve been eating it by itself. I might have messed up on the cupcake though. But I will try it again another time. Thank you so much! :9 mmmm

      • Christina says:

        That PB frosting is dangerous! I am so glad that you enjoyed the cupcakes!! 😀

  16. Samantha says:

    Fabulous! I just made these for a party and I had to sample one (of course!). Everything was superb and the consistency of the frosting is perfect. I couldn’t find kosher salt so I just used table salt for the frosting and it still tasted fabulous. I also couldn’t track down my paddle attachment so I used the whisk attachment on my mixer and everything was still great. Phenomenal recipe and congrats on your Foodbuzz feature!

Leave a comment