Soft Lofthouse Style Frosted Cookies

Unbelievably soft sugar cookies with a delicious buttercream frosting and topped with colorful sprinkles. These taste very similar to those infamous Lofthouse Cookies with frosting and sprinkles. You can find them in almost every bakery section of the grocery stores here in the United States. The cookies themselves are not overly sweet, but pair it with the delicious buttercream frosting and you have a delicate soft cakelike cookie.

Soft Lofthouse Style Frosted Cookies

Printer Friendly Version

For the Cookies:

  • 6 cups flour, divided
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups light sour cream

For the Frosting:

  • 1 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 6 tablespoons heavy cream
  • Several drops food coloring
  • Sprinkles

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk 5 cups of flour, baking soda, and baking powder; set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the flat beater attached, cream the butter and granulated sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula as needed. Add the eggs, one at a time beating until each is incorporated. Add the vanilla and sour cream and beat at low speed until combined.
  3. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed until just combined, about 30 seconds, scraping down the bowl as needed. Dough needs to obtain the right consistency for rolling, so add additional flour, 1/4 cup at a time, until this is achieved (up to 1 cup more flour). Divide dough into two sections. Flatten into rectangles about 1 1/2 inches thick, then wrap with plastic wrap. Chill in the refrigerator overnight.
  4. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or spray them with nonstick cooking spray, set aside.
  5. Generously flour a work area and rolling pin. With a rolling pin, roll the dough out to 1/4-inch thickness. Using a 2 1/2-inch round cookie cutter, cut out circles and transfer to a baking sheet. Bake for 7-8 minutes, until pale golden. Immediately transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool.
  6. To make the frosting, in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and vanilla. Slowly beat in the powdered sugar. Once smooth and creamy, add in heavy cream, 1 tablespoon at a time until the desired spreading consistency is achieved. If desired, add food coloring and beat until combined.
  7. Once cookies have cooled completely, frost and add sprinkles. Allow frosting to set, then store in an air-tight container. Let cookies sit for several hours before serving to allow the flavors to develop.

Yields: 4 1/2 dozen cookies

Source: adapted from Runs With Spatulas originally from Recipe Secrets

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

91 Responses to Soft Lofthouse Style Frosted Cookies

  1. Ally Lynn says:

    I love this type of cookie! Thanks for the share, will be trying soon.

  2. THESE ARE THE BEST EVER!!! 😀

  3. Amy says:

    I want these so bad! They look great.

  4. Caroline says:

    These cookies are so addicting–fluffy and sweet. This recipe is potentially dangerous, as I’d be tempted to make these all of the time!

  5. This cake ike cookie ie exactly the kind of cookie I love. The frosting just puts it over the top for me!

  6. beth says:

    like, like, like!

  7. These cookies look so fluffy and delicious! Love that creamy blue frosting too. Nice job!

  8. Ryan says:

    oooh, these are SO bookmarked! I love soft, iced sugar cookies like this and these look incredible– and so pretty too with the pale blue icing and sprinkles! The perfect cookie!! 🙂

  9. The Teenage Taste says:

    These are like the grocery store sugar cookies. I used to LOVE them when I was younger! 😀

  10. I love this type of cookie, but I now they are always loaded with preservatives and chemicals at the store. So glad I can make my own no!

  11. Wow these look fantastic! I’m going to make these for a coworker’s bday!

  12. Vickii says:

    These look lovely! I’m always looking for new, easily transportable baked goods to take to church and these fit the bill, can’t wait to try them!

  13. Anita Menon says:

    They look amazing… and soo tempting…

  14. Awesome, thank you! I’ve been wanting a recipe for soft sugar cookies. The last one I made didn’t go so well. 🙂

  15. My kids love those cookies. I even had to carry my daughter out of the store one time because she had a major fit when I said that we wouldn’t buy them. These will be fun to make for her. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Michelle says:

    I love soft sugar cookies. And the colors you choose for the frosting and sprinkles are just darling. Love these!

  17. susie says:

    do they turn your mouth blue?

  18. Nicole says:

    🙂 This is great! I love these cookies soo much, but they are sooo expensive. Now I can save money by making them myself….also, if they are home made there are no calories listed! ahh to be blisfully unaware 😀

  19. Lucie says:

    Sprinkles make everything pretty much irresistible for me… and sugar cookies just make the world a better place in general 🙂 These are PERFECT!

  20. These are my favorite cookies to buy at the store. I have looked for a copycat recipe and haven’t found anything that’s convinced me to try these at home. This post, however, has convinced me an awful lot. They look lovely and perfectly like the real thing. This post made my day!! : )

  21. Em says:

    This recipe looks so great – Makes me want to preheat the oven!
    Does it halve well? I don’t need to be stuffing my face with 4 dozen cookies!

  22. T.F.Walsh says:

    These look so divine, I’m tried making them myself and WOW they are so delicious. I’ll be making these again and again. Check out my blog at my attempt using your recipe.

    http://tfwalsh.wordpress.com

    Tania

  23. Torey says:

    I tried these cookies the other day and they were AWESOME! The icing was especially good and I found myself sitting there just eating icing instead of icing the cookies.

    Great recipe!

  24. Stefani says:

    These are one of my FAVORITE kinds of cookies. I have been telling my kids that I need to learn how to make them. Thanks for posting your awesome recipe.

  25. Lena says:

    i’m surprised looking at thetexture of your cookies. .seems fluffy. while these cookies are so popular over there, i dont think they are available here unless you home bake them. got to go..shall come back later to catch up. have a nice week ahead!

  26. Torey says:

    I saw this recipe and had to make these cookies. They were AMAZING! Thanks for sharing!

  27. Pingback: Soft Lofthouse Cookies « jmarijke

  28. Angela says:

    I have been looking for this recipe for years. Thank you for sharing. Can you freeze these cookies?

    • Christina says:

      Angela,
      I have never tried, they have never lasted that long. I don’t see why you couldn’t. I would wrap them in plastic wrap and place them in a freezer ziploc bag. If you try freezing them let me know! 🙂

    • NDavison says:

      The Lofthouse Cookies are actually shipped frozen and can be refrozen. Some people prefer to eat them frozen as well.

  29. These look amazing, even better than the giant eagle cookies.

  30. Pingback: Soft frosted sugar cookies | Cate's World Kitchen

  31. Lisa says:

    Oh, this is a baaaaaaad recipe to have… 🙂 So glad (or scared?) that I just stumbled this.. can’t wait to make them!

  32. Pingback: Friday Feature « Oh Gnome!

  33. I love cookies! this is great recipe, I will try it later. thanks 🙂

  34. Pingback: Seven Links | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  35. Michele says:

    I am making these tonight! Wish me luck! My daughter has been asking me to find out how to make these!!

    • Christina says:

      Michele,
      I hope you and your daughter enjoy the cookies! Let me know how they turn out for you! 🙂

      • Michele says:

        They turned out more like biscuits. I am guessing I used too much flower. Not sure. Will have to try again. By my husband loved them and especially the icing!

      • Christina says:

        MIchele,
        I am sorry to hear that these cookies didn’t turn out for you. 😦 They definitely shouldn’t taste like biscuits. Did you use more flour than what is listed in the recipe? Or maybe too much flour when rolling out the dough? These are one of my favorite cookies to make…I hope when you give them another try you have better results!

  36. Yum! I’ll have to try these! Thanks!

  37. You have both ruined my life and made my day in one single post! I. love. these.

  38. cheryl says:

    These are VERY GOOD!!!! Very soft and yes the flavours do meld together after a couple of hours, even more after a day!

  39. Pingback: Peanut Butter Bran Muffins « The Teenage Taste

  40. Tina says:

    These are my favorite cookies from a store!! Can you use regular sour cream? not a fan of lite s.c….

  41. pooslie says:

    I want to make these SOOO bad (lofthouse are my FAVORITE COOKIES)! I just have 2 questions:

    Can the dough be frozen?

    Do they spread at all? I want to make them shaped like candy corn.

    • nursejello says:

      I tried them today and I think they would hold that shape pretty well (perhaps nothing too much more detailed), though I imagine you’ve found that out by now. 🙂

  42. Darcy says:

    Has anyone tried these in pumpkin or chocolate? I would love to know how to do that. We LOVE these cookies and would love to make them in the other flavors.

  43. Alexis says:

    I have been searching for a Loft House sugar cookie dupe for months since my step dad loves them. I made these about an hour ago and they are the closest thing I have found to the real deal. I did not make the frosting so I can’t comment on that but the cookies itself are soft and melty. Mmmmm, thank you for the great recipe!

  44. Erin says:

    Can you make the cookies into different shapes? Or would they lose that shape when they are baked?

    • Christina says:

      Erin,
      I have not tried cutting them into different shapes before, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. If you give it a try, I would love to know how it turns out for you! 🙂

  45. Pingback: This Weeks Delish: June 4, 2011

  46. Not Supermom says:

    The lofthouse cookies are like crack. I can’t stop eating them. Will this satisfy that craving? Because the lofthouse cookies are expensive down here. $6/doz at my grocery!

  47. Christina says:

    Thanks for posting this recipe! I just made them for a Halloween party and crowd loved them (all adults mind you). I still have some dough in the fridge and can’t wait to make more!

  48. Teresa says:

    I’m a cookie snob. Seriously. I have been searching for this type of recipe for years…and it has eluded me until now. These cookies are fantastic! LOVE THEM!! Thank you so much for ending my search!

  49. Has anyone tried making shapes yet? A lot of sugar cookies spread when baked- the shape becomes unrecognizable, so you can’t use just *any* sugar cookie for cookie cutters- but I would love a fluffier, cookie cutter cookie for our holiday decorating party!?!?

  50. Morgan says:

    Wow. I made these tonight and they are FANTASTIC!!! I couldn’t wait for the dough to chill overnight, so I took them out of the fridge after two hours. Doesn’t seem to have caused a problem. Loved the recipe!!! Thank you SO much!!!

    • Christina says:

      Morgan,
      Yea! I am so glad that you liked the cookies! That’s good to know that you were able to use the dough after only 2 hours of chilling. Thanks so much for letting me know how they turned out for you! 🙂

  51. Ritika says:

    These look amazing! I am looking forward to trying this recipe for Christmas. I was wondering if you have every decorated them with royal icing. Do you think they would retain their shape well enough to pipe royal icing on them, especially if I were to use a Christmas tree or reindeer cookie cutter? Thanks!

    • Christina says:

      Ritika,
      I have not decorated these with royal icing before, but there is not reason why you can’t. As for using a shaped cookie cutter, I have only cut them out using a round cutter. If you try making them with a shaped cutter I would chill them again after cutting them out. If you give it a try, I would love to know how it turns out for you! 🙂

  52. Alexa bobadilla says:

    I cant wait to try mmm look good

  53. Cori says:

    These looked excellent…which I’m sure they were. I didn’t have any luck with this dough though. I followed the recipe to a T and the dough was still really soft. I thought after being refrigerated it might work out but it didn’t. 😦 I ended up have to make a giant square cookie because I didn’t want to waste the ingredients. I’m not sure what to do differently since I’m afraid to use even more flour. I’m still going to ice it and eat it up…but am sad I couldn’t make my cut outs for Christmas.

  54. Savannah says:

    Just finished mixing up the dough… Seemed like I had to add alot more flour for it to be rolling consistency…. HOPE they turn out!

  55. Pingback: The Best of 2011! | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  56. Catherine says:

    I changed a few things to lower the fat content of the cookie. Maybe that’s why it doesn’t taste as good as I thought it would, but the cookie is too thick (even though I measured it when I rolled it out). A bit -too- cakey for me and I like fluffy cookies. Still very tasty though.

    • Christina says:

      Catherine,
      It is kind of a trade off. If you take the fat out it also takes out the flavor and texture that makes these type of cookies taste great. I am glad that they were still tasty. Happy New Year! 🙂

  57. Sonia Oliver says:

    Sonia from Poughkeepsie: I am a grandmother of 4 and often help out with treats for the children, and being that I am on a strick budget i was looking for a recipe that met the kids standards from those expensive kind at the supermarket. It turned out just like the store brand, the kids did’nt even notice the difference.

  58. Mickie says:

    I have been looking for a recipe like this for soooo long….BUT…. I just finished baking these cookies and when I first opened the oven to check on them I discovered BISCUITS….. They taste delicious, however I was not expecting a biscuit. Next time I will cut them thinner. I did alter your recipe, I used confectioner’s sugar rather than granulated. I prefer the smoother consistency of the cookie when using powdered sugar. Thanks for the recipe.

  59. angilee says:

    Just finished making 3 batches of this recipe for a valentines cookie bake sale. This recipe is so yummy and moist. I didn’t even roll out the cookie. I pressed the dough into my heart shaped cookie pan, came out so cute. I made the icing with 1 bottle of red food coloring, and then made a pink icing. It was a hit, best recipe I’ve found, definitly making again. Thanks for sharing

  60. eriickalynn says:

    Made these and they tasted great! But they didn’t come out as soft..? They were slightly crispy and hard on the top and bottom, but I baked for the 7minutes and on the second batch I even baked for 6minutes… any idea where I went wrong?

  61. shanique says:

    I’ve been looking for a copycat recipe for a long time and none of them seemed right. This one looks most like them. I am going to try it. I can’t chill it overnight but I will for a couple of hours. Thanks for this recipe!!! I hope it will work. I’ll post a review of how it tastes!!!

  62. Sarah says:

    Oh. My. Word. These look delicious. I have allergies ad can’t have the loft house ones, but I have fantasized about them for ever. My dough is chilling right now, and I hope they turn out great!! I also love your blog, and about half of your recipes are bookmarked… Thanks so much for sharing :):):):):)

  63. MommaMary says:

    Just made and decorated them. Haven’t eaten one yet, but they are beautiful when decorated. Pretty spring yellow with butterfly sprinkles. Thanks for the recipe!

  64. Brianna Howe says:

    I am making the dough tomorrow!

  65. Mary says:

    Do these cookies have a rounded top when baked, or flat? I am hoping be able to stack graduated rounds and decorated like mini wedding cakes for a bridal shower. I know this won’t work if the cookies have a round aspect to their tops……

  66. Pingback: Individual Blueberry Buckles | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  67. Pingback: “PINSPIRED” « The No Drama Mama

  68. These cookies are one of my favorites! I cannot wait to try this recipe. I will be pinning it here in a minute so that I can be sure to find it once I get some sour cream!

    Helen
    Blue Eyed Beauty Blog

  69. Gym Bri says:

    My mom has made her Christmas cookies for years with a similiar recipe. They are amazing!

Leave a comment