Orange Creamsicle Cookies

A childhood treat in a cookie form! These Orange Creamsicle Cookies are exploding with white chocolate chips and orange zest, giving them an amazing summery taste. Growing up I was absolutely crazy for creamsicles. The vanilla ice cream surround by a layer of orange flavored ice was always so refreshing on a hot summer day. Last summer I made an incredible orange sherbet that tasted just like a creamsicle and I was in love. So when I saw this recipe on Susi’s blog I was totally hooked!

Orange Creamsicle Cookies

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons fresh orange zest, grated
  • 12 ounces (2 cups) white chocolate chips
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until light and creamy. Beat in egg and vanilla until smooth. Gradually add flour mixture until combined. Stir in orange zest and white chocolate chips.
  4. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown around edges. Cool for 3 minutes on cookie sheet before transferring to rack to cool completely. Store in airtight container.

Source: Susi’s Kochen Und Backen Adventures, originally from Guittard

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Orange Creamsicle Cookies

  1. you did it again! ice cream in a cookie. how do you think of these recipes?!! and seriously, your family + friends must love your baking!!

  2. Amy says:

    I’m in full agreement with Junia…you come up with the best recipes! Creamsicles are one of my favorite flavor combinations.

  3. Caroline says:

    You and your delicious looking cookies woman! I used to be obsessed with creamsicles as well, so I just might have to make these very soon. 🙂

  4. Adorable cookies! I love using orange zest in baking, it gives such a beautiful flavour!

  5. ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS! 😀

  6. Hey daaaahling, long time no hear! Love these cookies. I’m bookmarking them. I love oranges.
    *kisses* HH

  7. Michelle says:

    I love the idea of turning ice cream into a cookie. How creative!

  8. Jenny says:

    These are so springy, love the orange 😀

  9. I looooove cookies with lots of orange zest!! Sooo delicious!

  10. Yum! I love orange creamsicles, and I can only imagine the awesome they would be in cookie form!

  11. I am loving all your cookie recipes lately! These look so delicious and perfect for spring/summer. Yum!

  12. sweetlife says:

    my hubby would love these, he loves creamsicles!!

    sweetlife
    love the color!

  13. ooh I bet that orange flavor makes for a delicous cookie. Love this!

  14. It’s like you are a mind reader! I was looking for something interesting and amazing to bring to my work’s bake sale on Friday and this is it!! They sound and look mind blowing! I want to go to the store and get everything I need so I can make them NOW! I might have to make two batches and keep one for myself.

    • PS: about how many does this make? Thank you again for all your amazing ideas!

      • Christina says:

        This recipe makes about 3 dozen. In case you are wondering for any other recipes, I always put how much the recipe yields under the “printer friendly version” link. Let me know how they turn out for you! 😀

  15. Orange Creamsicle….what a great idea, love it.

  16. Dara says:

    Can’t wait to make these!

  17. Bethany says:

    I friend brought a plate of these to me at church yesterday. They’re amazing!!

    • Christina says:

      I am so glad that you enjoyed them! They are one of my favorites, especially for summer. They would be great to bring for a summer cookout. Thanks for visiting my blog! 😀

  18. Pingback: Orange Creamsicle Cookies {Good Food} « Cheesy Chic

  19. Ryan says:

    I made this recipe for Father’s Day and my family absolutely LOVED them. My dad has always been a fan of Orange Creamsicles (the reason I picked this recipe!), and he particularly enjoyed the cookies. Thanks!

  20. Pingback: Orange Creamsicle Baby Shower Inspiration Board - The Tiny Prints Blog

  21. Erin says:

    I saw these cookies on Food Gawker.com and was intrigued.. the last batch is coming out of the oven right now, and omg they are amazing! SO glad I decided to try this recipe for a big cookout tomorrow, I’m sure they will disappear …. thanks for the recipe!!

    • Christina says:

      Erin,
      I am so glad that you enjoyed them! I hope everyone at the cookout enjoyed them as well! Thanks for letting me know how they turned out for you! 🙂

  22. KT says:

    I made these for a Christmas Eve party, and they were gone like *that*. They were so good, and tasted exactly like a Creamsicle (they live up to their name, for sure). Thank you so much for this recipe! It’s a sure keeper.

  23. Pingback: Orange Creamsicle Cookies | Divinely Introduced. Divinely Led.

  24. Frankie says:

    These are the BEST cookies ever I substituted 1/2 tsp. of orange extract instead of the vanilla and added alittle more orange zest they were wonderful! Well formed, moist cookie YUMMY! Definately a keeper!

  25. Misha Hunter says:

    I just made these last night. They are wonderful! A true keeper recipe to add to my cookie recipe box. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

  26. Pingback: Lemon Ricotta Cookies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a comment