Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

These Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies are rich, decadent and so perfect for Valentine’s Day! Brownie and cheesecake batter are swirled together to make a festive and impressive dessert. Indianapolis, along with many other states in the Midwest, is coping with a huge ice storm that is supposed to cover us in over an inch of ice. Unfortunately the worst of the storm is supposed to come tonight. Today the school district that I work for was actually closed! This is very surprising because we never close. Ok, hardly ever! We did close the day after the Colts won the Superbowl in 2007. There was too much celebrating here in the Circle City to have school the next day! Last night as I was eagerly watching the news, hoping for a snow day, when they finally called it-No School! :) With all this ice and wind coming our way, the chance of us losing electricity is very likely. So what does Sweet Pea need to survive the ice storm of 2011? Red velvet cheesecake brownies of course! ;)

Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2-oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp red food coloring
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8-oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Butter the bottom and sides of a 8 inch metal baking pan. Put a long piece of parchment paper in the bottom of the pan, letting the parchment extend up two sides of the pan and overhang slightly on both ends. (This will make it easy to remove the bars from the pan after they have baked.) Butter the parchment.
  2. In a small, heatproof bowl, melt butter and chocolate together. Stir until combined and very smooth. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and red food coloring. Add chocolate mixture and stir until smooth. Add flour and salt and stir until just combined and no streaks of dry ingredients remain.
  4. Pour into prepared pan and spread into an even layer.
  5. To prepare cheesecake mixture, beat cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla extract in a medium bowl until smooth. Distribute the cheesecake mixture in 8 dollops over batter in the pan. Swirl in with a knife or spatula.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until brownies and cheesecake are set. A knife inserted into the cheesecake mixture should come out clean and the edges will be lightly browned.
  7. Let cool completely in pan on a cooling rack before lifting out the parchment paper to remove the brownies.

Source: Baking Bites

Looking for more Red Velvet recipes? Check out a few of my favorites! :D

 Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

 Red Velvet Cake Balls

 Red Velvet Cake Roll

 Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

258 Responses to Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

  1. Oooh stay warm!!! Of course, those red velvet cheesecake brownies would help any situation. What’s not to love? You had me at red velvet and then you got to the cheesecake. Mmmm all around.

  2. KeepItSweet says:

    I’ve been wanting to try these ever since I saw the recipe on Baking Bites! You just gave me extra motivation:-)

  3. Nina says:

    Ohhh Christina! You are killing me with these unbelievable posts! :) I am still not getting over the red velv whoopie pies—now these?! Wow—cannot wait to make them! They look phenomenal…another great option for VD!

  4. These look amazing. I definitely bookmarked this recipe.

  5. these look so freakin delicious… i would totally make these, maybe i will if i’m stuck at home any longer. thanks! gorgeous gorgeous pics.

  6. this looks amazing! wow, i just cant wait to make these:)

  7. Byn says:

    in toronto and the news is saying we’re going to get 20-30cms (8-12 inches) of snow overnight, which means working from home tomorrow, with some baking mixed in!

  8. Oh. My. God. I have gone to heaven! AMAZING!

  9. Mary says:

    These are beautiful to look at and I imagine amazingly good. I hope you have a great evening. Blessings…Mary

  10. With a title including “red velvet”, “cheesecake”, and “brownies” and then a description including decadent this is a must try! Wow!

  11. Sara says:

    This could not get any more perfect. Making these soon for sure (I feel like I say that often over here).

  12. thoma says:

    they look gorgeous and the recipe reads so rich. thank you for sharing! such a toss on the ice!

  13. JehanP says:

    These are so pretty and a nice twist on the traditional brownie.

  14. oneordinaryday says:

    Yea for grown-up snow days, right? :) I love the brownies – what a great twist for Valentine’s Day.

  15. jenna laughs says:

    So decadent!! They just LOOK fudgy and rich. I really like that this recipe only has a little bit of red food coloring too. I’ve seen some red velvet cake recipes that call for an entire BOTTLE of red food coloring. That can’t be good!

  16. These are a good way to stay warm!! Gotta keep that oven running all day, right? :)

  17. I love your blog..I have been reading all the different posts this morning! I can’t wait to male these brownies!!!

  18. Elyse Kelley says:

    These look amazing! I absolutely love red velvet. I’ll definitely be trying these out for v-day.

  19. rebecaelisa says:

    Hi! I stumbled across your blog and I’m so glad I did! I’m from North Houston so it’s nice to find someone in a similar area. These look scrumptious!

  20. Eliot says:

    As I sit here drinking tea and looking out over the snow, I was trying to think of something different to make for Valentine’s Day. What a great recipe. Can’t wait to try it!

  21. A ! Those look positively sinful! I can’t wait to make some…this is definitely going in my recipe folder.

  22. Can’t go wrong with that combination! Yum!

  23. Pingback: Red Velvet Cake Roll | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  24. Luciana says:

    Oh my word these look amazing! I will have to try these very soon! As a fellow Hoosier, I hope you stayed safe through our ice/snow storms this past week. Thanks for sharing this recipe; I have fallen in love with your blog!

  25. Stella says:

    No school?! Yay! That’s always nice.. Well, for kids and teachers. And these brownies are even nicer. I’ve never seen this done before. Very creative and buzzed;-)

  26. Svetlana says:

    WOW……now I am in heaven just by looking at them! My boyfriend loves both equally cheesecake and brownies, I know someone else who will be in heaven!!!

  27. These look superb! What a great way to spend an unexpected day at home! Well done on the top 9!

  28. I am catching the red velvet bug! Not something you see here very often in the UK. I may need to start the craze here!

  29. Suzanne says:

    these are begging me to make them! thanks for the recipe and they are gorgeous. Congrats on being on the top 9!

  30. Julie says:

    Woah! Another well-deserved top 9 post! This is a perfect valentine’s day project. We see a lot of red velvet cake but not a lot of red velvet bars. Thank you for sharing!! Julie

  31. I love love those..stunning and mouthwatering photo!!!

  32. Pingback: Breakfast adventures! | alisueonthemove

  33. Kimberly :) says:

    Let me be the first to say, “I MADE THESE last night.” So amazing! Your post moved me off the dime and right onto the kitchen counter. I even had to run to the store to make it happen and it was STILL worth it. I’m taking them with me to a Superbowl party right now. I’ve already printed multiple copies of the recipe for my friends. And, readers…in case you think you can skip the parchment step; think again. Thanks for a fabulous post, Christina!

  34. I made this recipe over the weekend, it was so easy..I just did a blogpost with pictures!! Thanks for the great recipe..this was my first time making homemade brownies!!!

  35. Found you via Food Gawker and I am in love with these brownies. Aah-mazing!

  36. Amanda says:

    My friends and I are totally going to make this soon! Though… we MAY whip up some raspberry to put in it though… >_>

  37. Pingback: Valentine's Day Recipes | recipegirl.com

  38. Pingback: Will you be my Valentine? Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies | A Girl's Gotta Eat

  39. dereni says:

    just want to let you know i found this recipe and made it for a small party, and it turned out diviiiiine.

  40. Sherry says:

    Wow…I have made these four times already. ;-) The first time for Superbowl party and they went so fast that some people didn’t get to try them. I mailed the last batch to my daughter who is away at college. Needless to say they were a huge hit and so easy to make. I did not use the red food coloring due to my son is very reactive to the dyes.
    Thanks so so much for posting…yum!

  41. Nat May says:

    Why do you butter the pan, then add parchment paper, then butter the paper? I’ve never heard of buttering between metal and paper, nor buttering the paper itself.

    • Christina says:

      Buttering the pan holds the parchment paper in place so that it does not slide around when pouring the batter into the pan. I always add another layer of “sticking protection” by buttering the parchment and sides of the pan so that there is no sticking at all.

  42. Pingback: egg-cellent | Millie & Me

  43. Melanie says:

    I am planning on making my boyfriend red velvet brownies as a late Vday gift. I’ve been researching all over and yours seems to be the one. =]
    But I was wondering, do they come out fudgy or more cake like?

  44. Kiki says:

    These look so good!!! I will def be trying these some time this week!

  45. Pingback: Non Stop « Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

  46. marcella says:

    Ironic as it, I can’t eat any part of this :( but I did make them for my boyfriend for valentines and he loved them. A week later his mom requested them for her bday :) thanks for sharing!

    • Christina says:

      Too bad you weren’t able to enjoy these brownies they are one of my favorites. :( I am so happy that your boyfriend and his mom did though! Thanks so much for letting me know…I love to hear it! :)

  47. Pingback: Irish Cream Cheesecake Brownies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  48. Cheescake, Red Velvet Cake, and Brownies in one delicious dish! This is awesome! :-D

  49. Briana says:

    These are super easy to make! Already made two batches with no trouble. Love the recipe.

    • Christina says:

      Yea!!! Aren’t these brownies incredible!? :) I am sooo happy that you enjoyed them! Thank you so much for letting me know, I love hearing from people who have tried my recipes!

  50. Kelsey says:

    I did this with my boyfriend as a cute date idea.
    The brownies turned out delicious, they weren’t as red as these because I think we did too much chocolate but I would make them again anytime!

  51. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies « CutieDoki (^_^)

  52. LeelaBijou says:

    It looks fantastic! I will try this :)

  53. Sarah smith says:

    I got here via stumble upon, and glad I did, these look so yummy, I have to make them!

  54. MICHELE says:

    I MADE THESE TODAY AND THEY WERE BEAUTIFUL AND MOIST..I BAKED THEM FOR MY CRAFT GROUP AND THEY LOVED THEM…THEY ARE NOT REAL SWEET… I WAS A LITTLE DISAPOINTED THAT THEY DIDNT HAVE MORE OF THAT RED VELVET TASTE..I WILL MAKE THEM AGAIN BUT NEXT TIME I WILL ADD MORE CHOCOLATE.

  55. Kelly says:

    I saw your recipe a while ago and finally got to make it last night, however i decided to make them as cupcakes instead!

    Unfortunately the cupcake cases bowed under the weight and they ended up spreading around the baking tray quite a bit. They lost the “cheesecake” bit but still tasted great!

    Next time i will just bake a normal one i think!

  56. Kathy says:

    Thanks for the recipe! Made these for Easter and they were a HUGE hit!! Already shared the recipe. deeeeeeelicious!

  57. Kelsey says:

    Thanks so much for posting! This recipe was straightforward and super-delicious. I love it! One of my new favorite desserts.

  58. I tried making one of these when my wife went home. It wasn’t as good looking and as red as yours but she loved it. Thanks for this.

  59. Patrick says:

    These are freaking amazing. Made them for my girlfriend and she went nuts. For a little extra deliciousness, after they have cooled, put them in the fridge and they will come out like a fresh cheesecake and very chewy.

    • Christina says:

      Thanks so much for letting me know how they turn out for you! I am so glad that you enjoyed them! :) This is definitely one of my favorite recipes!

  60. Brandon says:

    OMG. These look delicious!

  61. wow, this looks amazing. i will try to make it and respond if it tastes as good as it looks.

  62. WOW! WOW!….OMG…I love red velvet anything, never dreamed of brownies. Yum!

  63. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies | keeping the dreams alive

  64. Claire says:

    These look DELICIOUS!!! I can’t wait to make them! But I’m having a little trouble….
    The recipe list has some doubles on it. Should I ignore one of them? Or just put them all together?? Please let me know! Thank you so much!!!

    • Christina says:

      If you follow the recipes written directions it should make a bit more sense. Sugar, eggs and vanilla are added into two different parts of the recipe-the brownie batter and the cheesecake batter. Hope this makes sense…let me know how it turns out for you! :)

  65. gigi says:

    i saw redvelvet and thought yay! then cheesecake and was excited to try it out. then i saw the word brownie. my mouth watered and i have been gawking at this recipe for 10 minutes. thank you for being awesome.

  66. Pingback: BLT's Spot » Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

  67. Elizabeth says:

    I made these today for my husband and me. They were absolutely delicious – so moist, fudgy, and just a bunch of gooey goodness! I had one with a scoop of vanilla ice cream…talk about the ultimate sweet treat!

    • Christina says:

      Yeah! I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed them! :D I bet they would be incredible alongside a scoop of ice cream! Mmmm…now I am craving one!

  68. Meg says:

    I am DEFINITELY making these the day i get back from my holiday (wouldn’t want to interrupt the holiday bod hard work ha) SO EXCITED NOW!! :)

  69. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies « chocosnaprn

  70. Emily Dillbeck says:

    I can’t wait to make these!! One question: do I use unsweetened dark chocolate for baking? Or just plain ole dark chocolate? I’m searching my house to see if I have all the ingredients and the only place I have a snag is finding the right chocolate :)

  71. Curtis Christensen says:

    These are amazing. I made these and my roommates loved them. When I was buying the cream cheese i accidentally grabbed strawberry flavored and it still turned out great.

    • Christina says:

      I am so glad that you enjoyed them! Thanks so much for letting me know how they turned out! Mmmmm…I bet the flavored cream cheese would be yummy in these! I will have to try that next time I make them! :)

  72. Teej says:

    These look and sound delicious, but there are so many chemicals in artificial colouring, and I’m allergic to it. :( I’d love to make these and keep that beautiful colour…does anyone have a suggestion for a more natural food colouring that won’t change the flavour of these? I’ll google in the meantime but would love to hear some tried and true methods of dying food red without all the chemicals :)

  73. Felix says:

    I’m gonna try these. It’s like two recipes in one….:-)

  74. Kai says:

    I doubled the recipe and sent my wife off to work with brownies and brought some to my coworkers. They all went NUTS for these and were disappointed we ran out. Thanks for another great recipe!!

  75. Mrswright says:

    I made these last night and they were amazing. I know they are gonna taste better made from scratch, but I was wondering what ingredients here I could add to the box red velvet mix. It would be quicker and save me money on ingredients. These box mixes also make 9×13 so if i doubled the cheesecake part, there would be a lot more to go around. My husband is now requesting these weekly, so I would love a way to make them quicker for home and save the made from scratch recipe for special occasions.

  76. Nick says:

    Cheesecake…red velvet…brownies?!? Perfection at it’s finest and easy too! Very interested in making these.

  77. Bruno says:

    easy recipe and really tasty, family loved it

  78. Pingback: Seven Links | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  79. Leigh says:

    they turned out amazing!!! and such an easy recipe… i didnt even need to go grocery shopping!

  80. Gary Palmer says:

    Hate to measure and in a hurry so a faked the brownie end with Ghiardelli mix souped up with some cocoa powder, expresso powder and a little extra oil. Doubled the recipe and also added a bag of milk chocolate chips. Used a 9×13 pan so they were thicker and needed an extra 10 minutes in the oven plus sitting with the oven off for another 10 to get the middle to set. GREAT NOVEL BROWNIES. Now my second favorite brownies after salted caramel brownies. Thanks for the inspiration! First time poster but one of my favorite food blogs.

    • Christina says:

      Gary,
      Thanks so much for letting me know how they turned out for you…I am so glad that you enjoyed them! I love the idea of the shortcut by using the brownie mix. Thanks so much for sharing! :) Sorry I did not see your comment sooner…it was sent to my spam folder and I rarely check it.

  81. Pingback: Sweet Tooth! - Page 2 - Meez Forums

  82. Pingback: Sweet Tooth! - Page 3 - Meez Forums

  83. Kirsten says:

    I made these today and they are absolutely delicious! So simple and they look just beautiful. I left mine in just two minutes too long, so the edges are just a touch dry, but they are amazing none the less. This is my new go-to recipe for dessert

  84. This is an amazing recipe! I used dairy free butter, chocolate and cream cheese, because my daughters are allergic to milk and they were a huge success! Thank you!

  85. Bonnie says:

    I just made these last night and they are A-MAZ-ING!! Seriously bad for the calorie counter, but so good.

  86. kelsey says:

    Made these today, and wow! Theyre awesome!

  87. Pingback: FF – New recipes via Pinterest | Living Like the Kings

  88. Lynda says:

    I think that you are wonderful to post such a tasty and inspiring blog with such an awful storm on the way. You must have raised the spirits of many people with your bright, “let’s do something fun” attitude despite the weather challenges all around you. We don’t have snow problems in Australia but we do have heat ones and I can just imagine sitting down with a cool drink and a piece of Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies to ease the heat wearied family. Thank you. Lynda :-)

  89. Trish says:

    Just made two 9×13 pans of these. I quadroupled your recipe and they turned out great! I mixed the 4 packages of cream cheese with egg and sugar in the food processor. It made it much quicker.

  90. Oh my….these look evil!

  91. Crystal Holder says:

    my boyfriend and I made these today. They were not as red as the picture above and the cream cheese did not stay creamy instead it melted down level to the brownies. I’m not sure what we did wrong. :( i will probably try this again at a later time and hopefully they will turn out better. On the upside the actual brownies tasted really yummy. :) thanks for the recipe. and any suggestions on what i may have done wrong or what i could do to get a better result next time would be appreciated.

  92. I saw these somewhere else & think they look SOOOOO good!

  93. SuzanKen says:

    I wonder if putting a little powdered buttermilk in the chocolate mixture portion would give it a hint of red velvet cake? if no one has ever tried powdered buttermilk, you can find it in the baking aisle. i use it in all my baking including red velvet cake and chocolate icings. christine – this look great and i will make a batch with and without powdered buttermilk and let you know.

  94. I just stumbled upon this…and it looks amazing!

  95. I saw these on Pinterest and have a batch in the oven now. I’d love to include it in a blog post, linking to your recipe, of course. Do you mind if I borrow your picture? Thanks a bunch!

  96. sagcosgrove says:

    These sound AMAZING!! Thanks! I love red velvet cake, to combine them with brownies is just fantastic! Take a gander at my red velvet recipe on my site if you get a chance. I have a whole section on baking recipes. :)

  97. Hanan says:

    Those look incredible! :)

  98. Amani Tarud says:

    I stumbled upon this and decided to try this recipe, since brownies and red velvet are my favourite things. They are baking right now, and smell divine! Thank you so much!!!!

  99. Pingback: Favorite Things | The Hill Hangout

  100. Lauren says:

    I saw this recipe on Baking Bites too and tried it this weekend. The taste is amazing, fudgy and creamy, but I wasn’t able to get as much of a red color. I used Ghiradelli 100% cacoa unsweetened dark chocolate (too dark maybe?) and red gel instead of the liquid dye, so maybe it wasn’t concentrated enough. I’m curious to find out what you did to swirl the top though. From the photos it looks like some of the red batter was poured on top of the cheesecake layer, otherwise it seems unlikely that those thin red swirls were pulled up from the brownie layer on the bottom. My dollops of cheesecake completely covered the brownie layer so the only way I could get a swirl was to dig into the batter instead of just cutting an “S” with the knife. I’ve thought about just dying the cheesecake batter next time so the red will show up better.

  101. This is a wonderful recipe, thanks so much for sharing. You did a great job with the images too; I will definitely try this recipe this weekend.

  102. Pingback: Fluorescence « pare thinly and cover

  103. Gursahiba says:

    Cant wait to try these. They look Yummy!!

  104. DragonFlyGal says:

    These were so YUMMY!!! While I love brownies and cheesecake, I was not the biggest offender of eating these wonderful, moist brownies. Good news, it make a small pan so you can make them and they are gonzo super quick so you do not continue to eat them and ruin the total diet your working on.

  105. mlw says:

    Looks good! I recently had red velvet gelato, very yummy.

  106. I’ve been wanting to try red velvet brownies for a while, but your addition of the cheesecake means I’ll be making them this weekend. Adn I can’t wait. These look amazing!

  107. Calandra says:

    This recipe sounds amazing, but am not a fan of dark chocolate. Does the brownie part come out tasting really bitter like dark chocolate does? If so, can you recommend a another type of chocolate? Thank you so much!

    • Christina says:

      Calandra,
      I don’t think that it comes out too bitter. You could substitute semi-sweet chocolate chips instead if you prefer. If you give them a try I would love to know how they turn out for you! :)

  108. Michelle says:

    I actually made these, which were delicious! It’s just that they didn’t turn out red because the chocolate covered it. So I would just put more food coloring into the recipe :)

  109. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownie Recipe – Best Friends For Frosting

  110. Julie says:

    I just came across this recipe and I think I will use them to take the christmas parties. Putting green food coloring in the cream cheese will make them look so festive!

  111. caleb says:

    Trying to make these for a family event coming up, based on your ingredients how many bars can i expect. Just trying to figure out if i need to doube up on the items for the party….

  112. suezkitchen says:

    My two favorites fudgy and creamy cheesecake! The picture is gorgeous!

  113. Joseph says:

    Gonna surprise my girlfriend with these tonight! Can’t wait! They look delicious!

  114. Tina says:

    Yummy!!! Red velvet is my favorite thing EVER This will be my new thing to bring!!!! :)

  115. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Christina!
    These brownies look amazing!
    I really want to make these for a tailgate this weekend and was wondering a couple things… how do you normally store these? Do you they need to be refrigerated because of the cream cheese? Also do they last for a while or should they be baked and eaten pretty soon after? I’m trying to do all my stuff the day before since I know gameday will be crazy :)

    • Christina says:

      Elizabeth,
      This recipe makes 16 large brownies or 24 small brownies. You can definitely make them ahead of time. They keep in the refrigerator for up to 10 days. You can either serve them at room temperature or chilled. Let me know how they turn out for you! :)

  116. Emily says:

    Hello Christina,
    I made these and they are fairly easy considering the delicious (and pretty) results they yield. I did encounter a minor problem with the consistency of the brownie. When the edges were clearly done, the middle was still incredibly gooey/runny. Do you think it might help to make them in a 9×9 pan to make them a bit thinner? Any other ideas?

    Thanks!
    Emily

  117. Trish says:

    These look INSANE. I need to make them IMMEDIATELY

  118. paintingmama says:

    Oh, dear Lord. I have found another reason to gain more holiday weight. But I’ll be smiling while I’m gaining, lol.

  119. Pingback: Red Velvet Heaven - Simply Stacie

  120. sarah says:

    do i need to use the parchment paper ?

    • Christina says:

      Sarah,
      I would use the parchment paper. It just insures that the brownies don’t stick to the pan. You could try liberally greasing the pan and see how it turns out. :)

  121. Sarah says:

    These were so gooooooood!! I’m so glad i ran into these. They were so easy and the ingredients were so basic (besides the dark chocolate but that only costs about $2)!! NO TWEAKING NEEDED THEY ARE SIMPLY PERFECT!! I’m a 15 year old baker at heart and when i made these my family raved about them and called me a “chef”. Little did they know how simple this recipe is!!, ;) Thanks Sweet Pea’s Kitchen!! Definately using these for Christmas, :)

  122. Amanda says:

    Made these last night as a dry run for holiday gift idea… sooo good! Only changes made were using more chocolate (70% dark cocoa & semi sweet chips, maybe 4-5 oz), and then using a bit more food coloring to keep them red. It took a bit longer for the middle to set, maybe 10 extra minutes? But next time I will just take them out at the suggested time and store them in the fridge to keep them moist and fudgy. I also love above poster’s idea to use green food coloring in the cream cheese mixture for the holidays! Thanks for the recipe!!

  123. Pingback: Christmas Party Recipes « Arkansas Runner

  124. Shaun says:

    yummmm. Cheesecake on brownie :)

    I wouldn’t mind being snowed in so much with a plate of these.

  125. Joey V. says:

    I made these finally, still waiting for them to finish baking and it’s torture. Can’t wait to eat em. Smells amazing.

  126. Annette says:

    Little confused about the dark chocolate, what type of dark chocolate? Its not the bark chocolate is it? Please advise would love to make these for my group. thanks.

    • Christina says:

      Annette,
      Dark chocolate typically has cacao amounts starting at about 60 percent. It is not the same as bark chocolate. Many brands now print on the package the percentage of cocoa in the chocolate, just look for cocoa amounts of 60% and up. The higher the percentage the more rich and flavorful the chocolate flavor. My favorite dark chocolate bar to use is the Ghirardelli Bittersweet Baking Bar.

  127. Nadia says:

    Love chocolate brownies but instead of the red food coloring I prefer to put raspberries on the top. After putting three quarters of the cheesecream part on top, sprinkle raspberries and then dot some of the leftover chocolate brownie mixture and the cream cheese.

  128. Jennifer says:

    These are in the oven right now! Making them as part of our Christmas goodies this year! Thanks! :)

  129. Pingback: Red Velvet Brownies with Cream Cheese Frosting | More Than Just Dessert…

  130. Sharon says:

    Okay just a small question what are the amounts of the ingredients in the cream cheese mixture? Can’t wait to make these!

  131. Kristin says:

    Do I need to refrigerate these after they cool? Just wondering because of the cheesecake topping. Thanks!

    • Christina says:

      Kristin,
      I would refrigerate them after they are cool if they are not devoured right away! ;) To serve, let them come to room temperature before serving. If you give them a try I would love to hear how they turn out! :)

  132. Made these for Christmas eve lunch today and everyone loved them! I swirled in some green food coloring gel into the cheesecake to make them “christmas-y.” Thanks for sharing!!

    • Christina says:

      Rachel,
      I love the idea of swirling in different colors! I will have to try that next time I make these! Thanks so much for letting me know how they turned out for you! I am so glad that you enjoyed them! :D

  133. Pingback: The Best of 2011! | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  134. Christy says:

    Christina, made these today as a last indulgence before eating healthier tomorrow. Let me just say, they did not disappoint. My husband and I both loved them! I did not use the parchment paper and mine came out great. I had buttered my pan generously. I also used the Ghiradelli baking bar as you suggested, I think mine was 60%. This recipe is a keeper, will definitely make again!

  135. Hannah says:

    I just made these today, and I baked them for about 40 minutes.Are they supposed to be fairly moist in the middle? just wondering.They look great :)

    • Christina says:

      Hannah,
      They should be moist, but not too much. When you insert the toothpick into the center to check for doneness it should have a few moist crumbs attached.

  136. Doddy says:

    I want to make these, but I want to make sure that the recipe really calls for an 8×8 pan. Is that a typo? Will a 9×9 pan make much of a difference in the thickness and/or baking time?

  137. Freddie says:

    can i sub the dark chocolate for just milk chocolate or is there no point?

  138. Tisha says:

    These look so delicious, I need to make them for my family, They love red velvet and cheesecake, its the perfect combo, Thanks:)

  139. abbey says:

    I just made these!!! They are cooling on the rack right now…but i wanted to ask…should these just be kept out at room temp like regular brownies, or should they be refrigerated at some point because of the cheesecake part? Thanks! I cant wait to try them!!!

    • Christina says:

      I would refrigerate them after they are cool if they are not devoured right away! ;) To serve, let them come to room temperature before serving. I hope you enjoy them! :)

  140. Pingback: Pinterest challenge « weliveoutloud

  141. Thanks so much for this recipe. I made it last night and have a couple of questions that I thought maybe you could help me out with? I used a 8×8 pyrex dish because I don’t have a metal pan that size; I used the Reynolds wrap pan lining paper with parchment on one side and foil on the other. I buttered the pyrex and the parchment as directed. I put it in the oven for 35 minutes and pulled them out when the timer went off. I assumed they were done because the cheesecake on top was getting a little bit brown. Left the pan on a cooling rack for about 2-3 hours. When I went back to check on them, the batter was totally not cooked–still oozing. I know I put the oven on 350…I should have checked them of course before I put them on the cooling rack, but I figured they were done because the cheesecake was getting brown. Should I have turned down the heat for a pyrex and kept them in longer? Do you think the parchment/foil paper made a difference? Ugh! I wanted these to turn out so badly! They look so good (and the batter tasted awesome)! Thanks in advance for any help or advice!

    • Christina says:

      Laura,
      I don’t have much experience baking with pyrex dishes. I do know that when you are substituting a glass baking dish for a metal baking pan, you should reduce the oven temperature by 25°F since glass bakeware cooks food faster. That being said, I am not sure why the brownies didn’t turn out. If you try making them again in a pyrex dish trying reducing the oven temperature and increasing the bake time until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. :)

      • Emily says:

        Laura and Christina,
        I was looking all over these posts for someone else who prepared these in a glass baking dish, so glad I found one!! I cooked these in a 9×9 glass baking pan at 350*, I had to leave them in for 49 minutes util the toothpick came out with just a couple of moist crumbs. They’re are cooling now, and look wonderful!!

  142. Patty says:

    These look so yummy! I’m going to make them for a co-workers birthday. She loves brownies and cheesecake, so she’ll get the 2 at once. Can’t wait to see how they turn out!

    • Christina says:

      I hope she enjoys them! Let me know how they turn out for you! :)

      • Stuart B. says:

        These Red Velvet Chocolate Cheesecake brownies are fantastic. Everyone who tastes them cannot stop raving about them. I just bought another bottle of red food coloring and 2-8 oz packages of cream cheese. I hope I have the baking chocolate…got to go look……YES! Two more batches are on the docket for the next couple days.

  143. Ashley says:

    I made these for my family and they absolutely loved them!!! I’m eating one right now while i’m typing this. One of the best desert recipe I’ve ever found. Thank you!

  144. Diane Orcutt says:

    Thank you for the awesome Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies!! I made the Lavender Lady version with 3 tsp. culinary English lavender. Yummy! Thanks again. Would it be Ok to use ur recipe with my alteration adding lavender, on my website for Valentine’s Day recipe? I will give u credit for original recipe . Best always, Lavender Lady ~ Diane

    • Christina says:

      Diane,
      Sorry I didn’t see your comment earlier, it was flagged as spam and I don’t check those comments very often. Of course you can post the recipe with your adaptations. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed them! :)

  145. Pingback: red velvet cheesecake brownies « Two Tiny Kitchens

  146. Pingback: Heartland Oatmeal Turtle Bars | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  147. Amanda says:

    I’m so disappointed in this recipe and very confused. I consider myself a good/great cook/baker and followed the recipe to a T, and no matter how much red food coloring I used, I could not get the brownies red. I used dark chocolate, but that’s what the recipe called for. I didn’t use too much of it, exactly 2 oz. They brownies turned out….BROWN. Not what I was hoping for. I’m they’ll taste good, but I could make any brownie recipe taste good. Please advise, for those who were able to make the brownies red, what exactly you did to make that happen. Had high hopes for this one…..

  148. Jessica says:

    Hi Christina-

    Great recipe! I can’t wait to make these this weekend for a Superbowl party! I’d love to make a larger batch though (I only have pyrex baking dishes)…can you please help so I don’t ruin them?!
    THANK YOU!

    • Christina says:

      Jessica,
      I don’t have much experience baking with pyrex dishes. That being said, glass bakeware cooks food faster so I would recommend reducing the oven temperature by 25°F. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Let sit in the pan on a cooling rack for 20 minutes and remove from the pyrex dish (if you keep it in the dish it will continue to bake them and they will turn out dry). Hope this helps! let me know how they turn out for you! :)

  149. Jenny says:

    I featured these in a Valentine’s Day dessert collection today! They look amazing!

    http://daysofchalkandchocolate.blogspot.com/2012/02/17-valentines-day-desserts.html

  150. Pingback: Super Bowl 46: NY Giants vs. NE Patriots | ell on earth

  151. Stuart B. says:

    I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic! Made it for Super Bowl Sunday and it was a hit.

  152. Pingback: Red Velvet Cream Cheese Brownies | Happy When Not Hungry

  153. Lindsey says:

    I did something wrong. The bottom and top cooked but the middle part (top layer of brownie) just wouldn’t cook. It stayed soggy even though I cooked it for 20 extra minutes.. I had to take it out because the sides and bottom were being overcooked. Thanks for the recipe.. too bad I’m a terrible cook! ha!

  154. Pingback: Ebony Peoples Events & Design » Blog Archive » Valentine’s Day: The Red Velvet Edition

  155. Annie says:

    I found this recipe from pinterest.com and had to make them, your photo is so enticing. I have a block about baking. I am a fair cook and can follow/modify recipes successfully. Except when it comes to baking! Doh! But I keep trying and this recipe looked doable and come on, red velvet, cheese cake, brownies!

    They are as delicious tasting as they look. I feel so accomplished, maybe I can learn to bake, thanks to your recipe :-) Some thoughts…

    1. I used kosher sea salt and I think it gave the brownies a bit too strong a salt taste. I would use table salt next time or slightly less sea salt.
    2. The top of the brownies were brown, and not the creamy white depicted in the picture. I cooked them for 40 minutes and that was the correct time needed, because I checked them at 35 minutes and the toothpick inserted in the middle was still wet. It did not effect the flavor at all.
    3. My swirls were not as red as shown in the pic either. Maybe I need to swirl more of the brownie mix to the top.
    4. I did refrigerate the brownies after they cooled, however, I feel they taste better at room temperature.
    5. I thought the brownies were more cake-like, a very dense cake, rather than fudgey. I prefer cakey brownies, however, I think I might add a bit more chocolate.
    6. I wonder how this would taste with nuts and which kind would taste good?

  156. Yum! Cheesecake and red velvet cake are two of my favorite food groups. SO excited about this recipe – thanks!

  157. fariemia says:

    Reblogged this on Life Lessons and commented:
    Valentine’s party at work? I think so!

  158. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Food: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies « The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

  159. Pingback: Restored Style | Valentine's Dat | Bungalow Decor & Restoration

  160. sommer rae says:

    i’m really interested in making these but i don’t have a 8 inch pan can i use a 9/12 cake pan and if i do will they come out too thin? i figger i would be able to make 15- 2 in.by 2.5 in

  161. Courtney says:

    I’ve get semisweet chocolate on hand..would that be okay to replace the dark chocolate? SO looking forward to making these for Valentine’s day!!

  162. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Inspiration « Lesser Homes & Gardens

  163. Pingback: Food is Love « Newly Wife Healthy Life

  164. Pingback: Red Velvet White Chocolate Chip Cookies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  165. Pingback: Valentine’s Day « The Simple Things

  166. I found this on pintrest and am so happy I did. I was planning on just making a red velvet cake for valentine’s day, like I did last year, but red velvet, brownies, and cheesecake all rolled in one?! Can you say heaven? lol. I plan on making these this afternoon, thank you so much for the recipe!

  167. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies « A Dash of Sugar and Spice

  168. Pingback: WIAW #4 (February 15, 2012) | Apples and Optimism

  169. Pingback: Red Velvet + Cheese Cake + Brownies = LOVE « RunninLate

  170. Coley says:

    Oh my oh my! I made these on Valentine’s Day and they are to die for! Seriously so delicious! I hope you don’t mind but I put a link on my blog to your blog/recipe. I can’t wait to try some of your other recipes! Thanks for sharing

  171. Anna says:

    I made these wonderful brownies today but for some reason they didn’t get red at all, probably because of the food coloring I used, which consists of carmine. Should I use a different coloring next time?

    Anna in Sweden

  172. Kristi says:

    Do you have any suggestions of what type of chocolate to use? I know you said dark but Baker’s chocolate or would dark chocolate chips work?

  173. HotmessHannah says:

    I made these for Valentine’s Day….. and I refuse to disclose how many I ate before my husband even got off of work. Absolutely delicious. Will be a mainstay in my collection for sre.

  174. Sherry says:

    I just absolutely love these. I love red velvet, cheesecake, and dark chocolate What an excellent combination! I made them for Valentines Day at work and they were a hit. I am getting ready to make them again for me and hubby. Thank you!

  175. Pingback: ** red velvet brownies with cream cheese topping ** « Phatima's Box

  176. Heather says:

    Stupid question but, do the ingredients for the cheesecake start at the cream cheese? Lol

  177. Pingback: What’s Cookin’ – Special Requests | Mama's Empty Nest

  178. Kim says:

    Hmm.. did anyone else have way too much cheesecake mix? I tried only using “8 dollops” but then I had about half of the mix leftover. I ended up using all of it which resulted in a complete cheesecake layer on top. I’m sure it will still be delicious but was curious if anyone else ran into this dilemma.

    • Gracie says:

      I didn’t use the “8 dollops” I just poured all of it on top of the brownie mixture and I had just enough! CAN NOT WAIT TO EAT!! Darn! Cool faster!!

  179. Joí Iman says:

    I am headed to the store NOW! :-)

  180. Cynthia says:

    I make these all the time but instead of using chocolate I use white chocolate which I think tastes better (well so do my co-workers as I did try chocolate once)

  181. Tiffany Barnes says:

    Delicious! Made them for my best friend’s birthday in March. My 12 year old asked for them for his birthday instead of a cake! Really great recipe. Thanks for sharing

  182. shannon rose says:

    I made this today my boyfriend is a huge fan of red velvet cake and cheese cake and browies! they came out amazing!!!

  183. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies « Scrumboes « Wonderpug Graphics™

  184. Kat says:

    I made them the other day and they are wonderful! Quite possibly my favorite Red Velvet recipe, and that’s saying something, because I love, love, love my cupcake.

    I made it in a Pyrex dish, lowered the temp to 325, and it turned out great! It sat a little longer in the dish than the 25 minutes you recommend because I worried about the whole thing collapsing on itself when I tried to lift the baking paper out. It’s heavy and the middle would droop when I lifted it from the pan a little bit. So I let it cool in the pan more and sliced it in the pan when the top was cool to the touch. I had to dryness issues whatsoever.

    Again, this is a great recipe and thanks!

  185. Pingback: Red velvet cheesecake brownies!!!! « Don't ask me to smile…

  186. Pingback: Valentines Baking Roundup

  187. diana says:

    how many servings does this recipe make? i’m planning on making these for dessert when i cook dinner for my (very large filipino) family.

  188. Aurelia says:

    Beautiful colour, looks like a very tasty and delicious recipe!

  189. Pingback: Living Dolls and Red Velvet Cream Cheese Brownies « The Legal Tart

  190. Teresa says:

    Reblogged this on Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen and commented:
    I found these luscious looking Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies on Pinterest and have been dying to make them. Ok, recipe hounds, these brownies look too good to pass up! Thanks to Sweet Pea’s Kitchen for sharing.

  191. refinedchef says:

    Incredible pictures! I’m really looking forward to making some sweet red velvet! Thanks for sharing!

  192. Ashley says:

    So these brownies were both incredible to look at and delicious. I’m wondering though for those who arent the biggest fan of dark chocolate if regular milk chocolate could serve as an alternative?

    • Christina says:

      Sure you can use milk chocolate! If you give them a try I would love to hear how they turn out for you! :)

    • Cynthia says:

      Ashley try white chocolate as well that’s what I always use and they’re sooo delicious!

      • Ashley says:

        Thank you both! I think i’ll try the milk and white chocolate (separate batches). I never thought to try white chocolate but that sounds scrumptious. The real challenge is going to be not making both the same day because these brownies are beyond delicious :)

      • Christina says:

        I hope you enjoy them Ashley! Let me know how they turn out for you! :)

  193. Christine R. says:

    These look amazing. What a creative twist to a red velvet recipe!

  194. Sheena says:

    I tired making these but the texture of my brownie didn’t come out right not sure what went wrong but it became cake like and a bit solid. My mom messed up the sugar measurement so I only added half a cup cause she thought the cups was 1/2 when they were 1/4. Could that have affected it?

  195. Pingback: Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies « Chelsea Cooks

  196. Pingback: Remake: Brownies | Two Friends Cook

Leave a Reply

