Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Marshmallow Filling

I can’t believe I have waited this long to make these! They are so super cute and so easy to make.  I have to admit that I had never even heard of whoopie pies until about six months ago. I know, I know…where have I been right? This was my first batch and I was very excited to take that first yummy bite that you see in the picture above! 🙂 Two chocolatey cake cookies with a luscious marshmallow creme filling layered in between. Does it get any better than this? I think not!

Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Marshmallow Filling

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 ⅔ cups all-purpose flour
  • ⅔ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1½ teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable shortening
  • 1 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups Marshmallow Fluff
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable shortening
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Directions:

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 375°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the butter, shortening and brown sugar on low speed until just combined. Increase the speed to medium and beat until fluffy and smooth, about 3 minutes.

Add the egg and vanilla and beat for another 2 minutes.
Add half of the flour mixture and half of the milk to the batter and beat on low until incorporated. Add the remaining flour mixture and milk and beat until combined.
Drop by tablespoons of batter onto the prepared baking sheets at least 2 inches apart.

Bake one sheet at a time for about 10 minutes each, or until the rounds spring back when pressed gently. Remove from the oven and let the cakes cool in the pan for 5 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.
To make the filling: In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the marshmallow fluff and the vegetable shortening, on medium speed until the mixture is smooth and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
Add the confectioners’ sugar and the vanilla and beat on low until incorporated. Increase mixer speed to medium and beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes more.
Using a knife or spoon, spread the filling onto the flat side of a cooled cake. Top with another cake, flat side down. Repeat with the remaining cakes and serve.

Source: Whoopie Pies

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Marshmallow Filling

  1. Alison says:

    Love Whoopie Pies!!

  2. oneordinaryday says:

    Mmmm! Gorgeous!

  3. i’ll admit. i’ve been trying to hold out on the whoopie pie craze. i feel like it rivals macarons and i have a definate perference, but for the marshmallow of it all, i might now just have to give in. 🙂

    • Christina says:

      I was kind of thinking the same thing for awhile until I saw this book and recipe. I am now hooked! There are so many delicious recipes for whoopie pies out there. If you try them out, let me know! 🙂

  4. Marianne says:

    We have some serious need of happy in our house right now, so these are baking as I type! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  5. whoopie pies are a favourite looks delicious

    • Christina says:

      They are now a favorite in my house! I can’t belive I waited so long to make them! I took some into my work and most people had never even heard of whoppie pies…crazy!

  6. Kristen says:

    Oh, yum! Those look great! Every time I go to a nearby Amish store, I have to buy one of their pumpkin whoopie pies with cream cheese frosting in the middle. =)

    • Christina says:

      Those sound so good! I love anything with pumpkin! I have an awesome recipe for pumpkin whoppie pies with cream cheese filling that I am excited to make this fall! 🙂

  7. lynne says:

    yum, those look delicious! I’ve been meaning to make those, I think I really should now!

  8. Kori says:

    Whoopie pies are so much fun! We made some with sprinkles for a birthday party last weekend, and they were such a hit! Great photos too…makes me want one 🙂

  9. shafriza says:

    would some one be kind enough to tell me how to make the Marshmallow Fluff? please/

    • Christina says:

      I have always used Marshmallow Fluff that I bought from the grocery store. http://www.marshmallowfluff.com/
      You can make your own version of marshmallow fluff that is really easy to make. Here are the ingredients that you will need:
      • 3 egg whites
      • 2 cups light corn syrup
      • 1/2 teaspoon salt
      • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
      • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

      Directons:
      • In a large bowl, combine egg whites, corn syrup and salt; beat with mixer on high speed for 10 minutes or until thick.
      • Add confectioners’ sugar; beat on low speed until blended.
      • Beat in vanilla until blended.

      Hope this helps! Let me know if you try the recipe! 🙂

  10. Pingback: Pumpkin Whoopie Pies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  11. Pingback: Gingerbread Whoopie Pies with Eggnog Filling | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  12. Pingback: Gingerbread Whoopie Pies with Eggnog Filling | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  13. Kaelen says:

    I tried some s’mores-style with broiled marshmallows and it was delish! I’ll try to recreate it with this recipe!

  14. Pingback: S’mores Whoopie Pies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  15. teacher-chef says:

    I’m making these for my boyfriend this afternoon – he is a HUGE fan of the classic Amish Whoopie pies he grew up with and although I always bake for him, I am scared to make these because I’m afraid they will not live up to his expectations. This recipe looks like it might be it… thanks for sharing & I’ll be sure to repost soon 🙂

  16. Pingback: “Classic” Chocolate Whoopie Pie « Teacher by Day – Chef by Night

  17. Pingback: Hazelnut Cinnamon Chip Biscotti | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  18. Judi says:

    Hi Christina!

    I made these tonight… they came out like pancakes, the batter was more like cake batter than the batter from the gingerbread ones you had (which were AMAZING BTW!)… any guess on what went awry?

    Best,
    Judi

  19. Pingback: Funfetti Whoopie Pies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a comment