Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

The perfect Oatmeal Raisin Cookie-thick, chewy and exploding with chocolate covered raisins. I have been craving oatmeal cookies like crazy for the past few days and when I stumbled across this recipe I knew that I had to make them! As I searched for the best oatmeal cookie recipe I found many different additions-chocolate chip, walnuts, pecans. They all sounded really yummy, but I was looking for a cookie with that special something. This recipe had over 400 reviews all exclaiming how absolutely amazing the cookies are. I knew I had found the recipe I wanted to try! 🙂 The original recipe called for raisins and walnuts, however, I wanted to add that special something. As I was thinking of what I wanted to include in my cookie batter, I thought why not have the raisins that I am already adding be covered in chocolate! I threw in some Raisinettes and ended up with a cookie that is out of this world! Chewy, thick, and bursting with chocolate and raisins…the perfect accompaniment to your glass of milk. 😉

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup chocolate covered raisins (Raisinettes)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)
Directions:

  1. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together. Stir flour mixture into the butter mixture. Stir in the oats, chocolate covered raisins and walnuts.
  3. Drop batter by heaping tablespoons onto the prepared baking sheet, spacing the cookies two inches apart. Place baking sheets in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat oven to 350°F and place the oven rack in the center of the oven. Bake cookies in preheated oven 10 to 12 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown and the tops look a little undercooked. Allow cookies to sit on the hot baking sheet for five minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool.

Source: adapted from Smitten Kitchen

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. gingerbreadcake says:

    I LOVE oatmeal raisin cookies, they’re my favorite. But oh my goodness, with the chocolate covered raisins the cookies sound BEYOND amazing! I have to try this recipe, it looks so incredible. Thanks you very much for sharing. 🙂 You have no idea how excited I am about this recipe!!!

    • Christina says:

      You are so welcome! I hope you enjoy them…they are amazing. If my husband didn’t take them to work today I am pretty sure I would have eaten WAY more than I should! Let me know how they turn out!

  2. Susi says:

    OK, you had me the second you mentioned Raisinettes!!!! I love those but would have never thought to integrate them into a cookie. You are a genius! I’m adding this on my “must-make-list” asap!!!

  3. Jeannie says:

    Hi! congrats on making the Top 9, these cookies looks like something I would enjoy very much! Looks delicious!

  4. lynne says:

    Congrats of Top 9! I love oatmeal cookies, and these look Amazing!

  5. lisa says:

    Im so glad I found this site from the top 9, your recipes looks so good!
    Cant wait to try this one!

  6. Pingback: Cowboy Cookies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Raisin Pecan Oatmeal Cookies | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  8. Pingback: Mini Corn Dogs | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a comment