Meyer Lemon Scones

There is nothing better than warm from the oven scones on a weekend morning. I have been wanting to make some meyer lemon scones for a while now and I have not been able to find meyer lemons anywhere. I had looked at several grocery stores trying to find those orange-hued lemons. Finally, on my latest grocery trip, I spotted one little bag left. I snatched it up, so excited to start baking with little guys. Dating back to ancient China, Meyer lemons are thought to be a cross between lemons and possibly tangerines or mandarin oranges. They are smaller than regular lemons and have a thin golden-colored peel. They also taste different from regular lemons, they are slightly sweeter and much less acidic. With my bag of meyer lemons in hand, I went searching for a recipe, but found that many of the recipes called for blueberries or cranberries to be added to the dough. I wanted a pure and simple meyer lemon scone so I could taste the delicious flavor of the meyer lemons. Remembering how much I loved the Irish Scones I made a while back, I adapted the recipe to make them into meyer lemon scones. They turned out incredible…light, fluffy and melt in your mouth tender. 🙂

One Year Ago: Snickers Cupcakes 

Meyer Lemon Scones

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons freshly grated meyer lemon zest (from about 3 lemons)
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon fine salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream, divided

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Place a parchment paper lined baking sheet in the oven.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into a mixing bowl. Using your fingertips, work the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture just holds together.
  3. Mix 1/2 cup heavy cream and finely grated lemon peel in glass measuring cup. Make a well in the center of dry ingredients and pour the heavy cream. Working quickly, blend ingredients together with a rubber spatula into a soft, slightly wet, sticky ball. Add more heavy cream (up to ¼ cup) if needed to reach desired consistency. (do not overwork the dough or scones will be tough)
  4. Turn dough onto a lightly floured work surface. Using a floured rolling pin, roll the dough into a 1-inch thick square. Dip a 2-inch biscuit cutter in flour and cut out the individual scones. Push scraps of dough together so that edges join; firmly pinch edges with fingertips to make a partial seal. Pat this remaining dough to 1-inch thick square and continue to cut 2-inch rounds. Repeat as necessary.
  5. Remove the baking sheet from the oven and arrange the scones 1 1/2 inches apart on the baking sheet. Bake 8 minutes, remove from oven and flip over the scones, return to oven and bake another 4 minutes or until just barely brown. Serve immediately.

Yields:  8 2-inch scones
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Bake Time: 12-15 minutes

Source: adapted from “Real” Irish Scones

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Scones and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Meyer Lemon Scones

  1. this is a nice, less traditional use of meyer lemons – what a good idea. i bet they’re delicious and fragrant. mmmm!

  2. I need to pace myself and not skip a day over here. Two posts in one day is just sensory overload. These look fantastic!

  3. Have never heard of these lemons but the idea of lemon scones really appeals to me!

  4. This is not helping me towards my goal of not being mortified about trying on bathing suits! 🙂 Love scones and Meyer lemons make anything better.

  5. Michael Ann says:

    So did you just use the same recipe as your Irish scones that you posted last week? They look great! I have a Meyer Lemon tree 🙂

  6. Michael Ann says:

    Oh! Sorry, I hadn’t read your whole preamble and see that is exactly what you did! 🙂

  7. Joanne says:

    Yum!! A scone and a cup of coffee sounds good right now. … 😀 love meyer lemons

  8. KeepItSweet says:

    I still have a few meyer lemons in my fridge, these might have to happen:-)

  9. Baker Bettie says:

    I HAVE to make some of these scones soon! I have been oogling these and the last ones you made. They are SO gorgeous.

  10. I love how tall these are! I’ve never had a meyer lemon before but these sound interesting. I can’t get over how tall and perfect they look! Nice job.

  11. I might just have 3 meyer lemons in my fridge begging to be made into these scones:)

  12. Pingback: Meyer Lemon Strawberry Muffins | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  13. These look so good! I am opening a bed and breakfast in Virginia so I am always looking for some good recipes! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

