Cherry Hazelnut Oatmeal

Help jumpstart your day with a warm and satisfying bowl of this Cherry Hazelnut Oatmeal. Tart cherries, crunchy hazelnuts and hearty steel-cut oats are combined in this satisfying and healthy morning meal. Growing up my mom always insisted that we ate a healthy breakfast before heading off to school. She would make me oatmeal or grits every morning. Back then I didn’t really care for the oatmeal unless it was laden with sugar and cinnamon, I would have much rather had a big bowl of sugary cereal or fluffy pancakes. As I have gotten older I absolutely love a bowl of hot oatmeal in the morning. In fact, I start most days with either a bowl of homemade oatmeal or whole grain cereal. One thing that I love most about many oatmeal recipes is that you can make it ahead of time and reheat it in the morning for a fast and easy breakfast.

One Year Ago: Chicken Pad Thai 

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups water
  • 2 cups steel-cut oats
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseed
  • 2/3 cup dried cherries, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons brown sugar, divided
  • 1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts, toasted and divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons toasted hazelnut oil

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat combine water, oats, flaxseed, cherries and salt; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes or until desired consistency, stirring occasionally.
  2. Remove from heat and stir in 3 tablespoons sugar, 1 tablespoon nuts, and cinnamon. Place 1 cup oatmeal in each of 6 bowls; sprinkle each serving with 1 teaspoon sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoon nuts and drizzle with 1 teaspoon oil.

Yields: 6 servings
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes

Source: adapted from Cooking Light, May 2004

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cherry Hazelnut Oatmeal

  1. Megan says:

    Great flavors in here. Always looking for more exciting things to eat for breakfast.

  2. This would be so good with the hazelnuts and cherries. Dried sour cherries are one of my favorite things. I don’t cook oats in water anymore though — I cook them in milk to get the calcium and to add protein to my breakfast.

  3. veghotpot says:

    This looks lovely I always just have porridge with water which can be boring so nuts and fruit would be yummy!

  4. Yum, this looks like an absolutely perfect winter breakfast!

  5. yum! cherry and hazlenut sounds like a delicious combination!

  6. actually i haven’t cooked steel cut oats before! i heard they are super good. i get so impatient, i need to eat my oats within 5 minutes hahaha, so i stick with rolled oats. i heard u can make them in a rice cooker!

  7. raquel says:

    good start for breakfats

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    This does look good and would be the perfect breakfast to have before heading out into Winter’s chill.

  9. Those hazelnuts look wonderful.

  10. I love cherries in oatmeal, but never thought of hazels and hazelnut oil. Wonderful idea – Id love to make this for a breakfast-dinner on a chilly evening.

  11. Do you think you could make these as overnight oats too? It’s just me and I can’t eat 6 bowls in one day 🙂 This looks amazing!

  12. Reblogged this on alisueonthemove and commented:
    On my list to make!

  13. IamSimplyTia says:

    How good does this look? I love the combination of cherry and hazelnuts but hazelnuts are a little hard to find around my area. What do you think would be a good substitute?

  14. Eliot says:

    I love hazelnuts. Thanks for the inspiration for all my breakfasts next week!

Leave a Reply

