Thanksgiving Countdown

I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is next Thursday! Where did the month go? I am very excited for Thanksgiving day, you see this is the first year in which Andrew and I will be hosting Thanksgiving dinner. My parents, brother, sister-in-law and nephew are all coming to Peoria to gather around our table on Thanksgiving day and enjoy a delicious feast. Needless to say, since it is my first time hosting Thanksgiving I have been planning the menu for months. 😉 If you haven’t already, now is the time to start thinking about what you are going to serve on the big day. With Thanksgiving fast approaching, I wanted to share with you some recipes that would be perfect for your big feast!

One Year Ago: Cranberry Coffee Cake 

Classic Macaroni and Cheese:

This rich and creamy macaroni and cheese is the perfect comfort food!

Spicy Sweet Potatoes:

The spicy and sweet combination make a great addition to any meal.

Roasted Potatoes, Carrots, Parsnips and Brussels Sprouts:

Potatoes, carrots, parsnips and brussels sprouts are tossed together with dried herbs and roasted to perfection.

Stuffed Sweet Potatoes:

Sweet potatoes are baked, filled with pecans and spices, then stuffed with marshmallows.
Delicious rosemary roasted potatoes with a crunchy skin and creamy interior.

Maple Mashed Sweet Potatoes:

Mashed Sweet Potatoes lightly sweetened with maple syrup and brown sugar.

Oven Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts:

Oven Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts are the perfect side dish for any holiday meal. Seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic and olive oil, then slow-roasted until a deep golden brown.

Parmesan Roasted Broccoli:

Broccoli is roasted with thinly sliced garlic then tossed with freshly squeezed lemon juice, lemon zest, Parmesan cheese, basil, and toasted pine nuts.

Scalloped Potatoes with Three Cheeses:

Scalloped Potatoes smothered with sharp cheddar cheese, blue cheese, and Parmesan cheese-the ultimate side dish for your Thanksgiving table.

Harvest Pumpkin Soup:

Rich and creamy Harvest Pumpkin Soup that is sure to warm you up when the air turns crisp.

Butternut Squash Soup:

Rich and creamy Butternut Squash Soup that it is actually healthy as well!

Spiced Pumpkin Rolls:

Moist, full of fall spices and bursting with delicious pumpkin flavor.

Sweet Potato Rolls with Maple Pecan Butter:

Golden orange Sweet Potato Rolls slathered with Maple Pecan Butter are the perfect choice for your holiday table.
These tender, flaky Pumpkin Buttermilk Biscuits are wonderful for an autumn breakfast or even for Thanksgiving dinner!
Silky smooth pumpkin pie with a tender, flaky crust.
Traditional apple pie with two types of apples and a woven flaky lattice crust.
Rich and sweet pecan pie exploding with toasted pecans and a hint of bourbon.
I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving! In these days leading up to Thanksgiving I will be posting more recipes you can serve for the big feast. I would love to hear how any of the recipes turn out for you! Drop me a comment and let me know here or you can even upload a picture over on the Facebook Fan Page for Sweet Pea’s Kitchen! 😀
This entry was posted in Dessert, Main Dish, Pie & Tart, Roundup, Side Dish, Soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Thanksgiving Countdown

  1. jenn says:

    We had our “Thanksgiving”/farewell-to-the-little-sister-joining-the-army dinner two nights ago. My mom is quite the cook/bake and “took it easy this year” We had about 15 different items (including squash soup) as opposed to the normal 20-30. However, it was pretty traditional. I’d love to try some of the fancy breads on your Thanksgiving list! Maybe next year.

  2. Christina–absolutely wonderful post! I loved the photo of the Thanksgiving table all set for dinner, so inviting. With your culinary skills, I have no doubt that your first hosting of the traditional Thanksgiving meal will be memorable for you and your guests. I’ve got a great sweet potato pie recipe for you to go along with the apple, pumpkin, and pecan: http://www.fransfavs.com/2011/11/sweet-potato-pie/ Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. What a great roundup! I love the roasted Brussels sprouts and the idea of having mac and cheese on the table.

  4. Shanon says:

    Hi Christina, do you have a Turkey recipe??

  5. Elisabeth says:

    Seriously? Next Thursday!? I had better get busy!!! We just moved cross country so I’ve been a little out of the loop lately. Thankfully a friend is hosting. I might just have to try the garlic roasted brussles sprouts and pumpkin spice rolls!!!

  6. I’m so glad our Thanksgiving is over… not!!! I feel inspired by the selection you have here! Very impressive and I love your photography as well.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    That is some list of recipes, Christina. Your 1st time hosting Thanksgiving? It will be wonderful, I’m sure. 🙂

  8. Caroline says:

    Wonderful roundup, Christina. Everything looks amazing! Look how high that apple pie is stacked!

  9. Jen Roque says:

    It all looks amazing. I too can’t believe it is just next Thursday. I am only stocked up on my turkey so far. Oh boy, got lots to do.

  10. Mmmm… I wanna come to your house for Thanksgiving, haha!

  11. What a wonderful collection of recipes, wow, I don’t know where to start – they are ALL very enticing!

  12. Lauren says:

    Thank you for this post — wonderful recipes! I’ll definitely be trying a couple out.

  13. Peggy says:

    You’re definitely not short on ideas for Thanksgiving dinner! Hope all goes well without a hitch =)

  14. Erin says:

    What a wonderful round up! Wish I were cooking the dinner this year now.

Leave a Reply

