Beer Battered Fried Pickles

We continue onto Week 6 of College Football, which means another delicious Football bite! This week I give you one of my favorite guilty pleasures-fried pickles! Nothing says let’s watch some football more than beer battered pickles. I remember the first time I tried fried pickles was in my hometown of Columbus, Ohio at The Old Bag of Nails Pub. I about fell out of my chair! Warm, crunchy, beer battered pickles served with a ranch dipping sauce-I was in heaven! I know some of you that have not tried fried pickles think I am crazy for posting this recipe today, but for those of you that have tried them, I bet you are already making plans to try these! 😉 Trust me, you need these at your next tailgate! So go ahead and pour yourself a cold one and sink your teeth into some incredible pickles! 🙂

One Year Ago: Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting 

Beer Battered Fried Pickles

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 2 (16-oz.) jars dill pickle spears, drained
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 (12-oz.) bottle beer
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch cracked black pepper
  • Pinch cayenne
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • Vegetable oil
  • Ranch for dipping

Directions:

  1. Place pickles in a fine mesh strainer set over a bowl to drain for 10 minutes. Than pat pickles dry with paper towels.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg, beer, baking powder, salt, pepper, and cayenne. Add the flour and whisk until smooth.
  3. In a large sauce pan, pour oil to a depth of 1 1/2 inches and heat over medium-high heat to 375°.
  4. Dip pickle spears into batter and fry in batches, 3 to 4 minutes or until golden. Drain paper towels and serve immediately with ranch dipping sauce.

Yields: 8-10 servings

Source: adapted from Southern Living, July 2007

If you’ve missed them, make sure to check out the rest of my College Football Bites: :)

Week One: Pizza Pretzel Bites               

Week Two: Slow Roasted Pulled Pork 

Week Three: Mini Corn Dogs                 

Week Four: Buffalo Chicken Bites         

Week Five: Texas Chili                            

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Beer Battered Fried Pickles

  1. Those look great! I have had the fried slices, but have never had the fried spears. I will have to give them a try!

  2. These look great! Thanks for the recap of the previous recipes, that way I have all that babies in one page 😉

  3. Wow – these look so naughty and so nice!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Deep fried pickles. Where have you been all my life? These seem like the ultimate game day snack. Thanks, Christina!

  5. Eliot says:

    I have never seen fried spears. I have had fried slices. And, I do not know how I have missed your previous week’s posts. I am remedying that now!

  6. jennknee says:

    I don’t even know what to say! I’ve never seen this before…but I’m assuming they are tasty (guiltily so) even they are on your website!

  7. Oh my goodness these look soooo insanely good! I’ve never had fried pickles before but have always wanted to try them. 🙂

  8. You make me want to tailgate! I don’t even watch football.

  9. The Teenage Taste says:

    Oh my goodness – fried pickles! I haven’t had those things in forever! That definitely needs to change! 🙂

  10. Jen Roque says:

    Never had them whole before, great post! I love me some fried pickles!

  11. Erin says:

    Oh wasn’t last night so exciting at first yet such a bummer? But good fried food like this makes it all better, right?

  12. Megan says:

    100% in love with this recipe!

  13. I’ve had fried pickles before, but didn’t love the coating…now this batter is a winner with me!!!

  14. Carlie Chew says:

    I was just thinking about fried pickles yesterday : ) haha. I have never had them before, but I love pickles and how can you go wrong with a fried pickle. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I’ll have to try it.

  15. Great recipe — not sure if I can get past the whole deep-fried pickle thing, but I can see how fun this must be to make!

    😉

  16. Lakia Gordon says:

    I heart pickles, but I would have to take a small piece of someone else’s before purchasing one lol

  17. I’m so curious I have to try these! Thanks for sharing and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

  18. Caroline says:

    Congrats on getting freshly pressed, that’s so exciting! These are the perfect tailgate food. Even though our Buckeyes aren’t doing too well, I’m still supporting them!

  19. Sue says:

    Looks good, especially with the ranch dressing.

  20. Renee says:

    Congrats on being FP – You DESERVE it!!!

  21. These look delicious.. can’t wait to try ’em out!

  22. I love fried pickles when they’re sliced up into little chips. Mmm, so much fried deliciousness. Great with honey mustard, too.

  23. You’re on Freshly Pressed, woo hoo!

  24. msperfectpatty says:

    YUM! I looooovvvveeeee fried pickles! I’ll have to try this recipe!

  25. mmm…looks so crunchy. delicious.

  26. Rachel says:

    These look amazing.. I LOVE pickles – I’m definitely trying this recipe!

  27. I want to try these!!! Bring ’em on!

  28. Ann says:

    I have to say – these look amazing! For those who haven’t had a fried pickle….make sure you try them! They’re amazing!

  29. rumpydog says:

    mmmmm…. LOVE fried pickles! Your recipe sounds the best!

  30. sagcosgrove says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I’m an avid foodie myself!

  31. Christine says:

    I love beer batter.

  32. realfunfood says:

    I’m from Dayton originally 🙂 And fried pickles – my favorite! Normally I have pickle chips, though. I’ve never seen whole fried pickles but I’d love to try them.

  33. Oh this looks so delicious. I’m going to make some for our next family reunion.
    It’s a perfect recipe I was looking for.

    Thanks for Sharing!

  34. EmSwanson says:

    Americans fry EVERYTHING. That isn’t to say these don’t look tempting though 😉

  35. hlh827 says:

    Fried pickles are delicious! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe…now I have no excuse not to make them at home!

  36. CiCi says:

    Oh sweet delicious-ness! I can’t wait to try these, especially since I don’t have to go buy a deep fryer 🙂 I’d be afraid then that I’d deep fry my entire kitchen!!!

  37. louise says:

    looks delicious! 🙂

  38. Now that’s un-usual! But looks so fab! This is why I love checking out other people’s blogs- great new ideas! I’m gonna try these!! ;o)

  39. These Look Amazing my Friend. I am a fellow Culinarian that always searches for the next awesome fried food when I get the chance. This hit the nail on the head, and I think I will try this for my family’s pre meal snack tonight.

  40. myndmlt says:

    Could I just eat them out of the screen? 🙂 Delicious!!!

  41. kat says:

    I love deep fried pickles!! I never ever in a million years would of thought of deep frying a whole pickle..amazing!! Seeing this makes me miss summer and fair food 😦

  42. Oh my, those look delicious! Gotta try ’em out one day.

  43. Stephanie says:

    These look delicious. I love beer batter! 🙂

  44. Pingback: Buffalo Wings | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  45. goingtomx says:

    I’ve already decided I have to make these as soon as possible. I’ve had fried pickles – the sandwich chip kind but these look amazing too!

  46. Jess says:

    I love fried pickles! This looks delishhhhhh!

  47. Wow! Those look amazing. Will definitely be trying those bad boys out! I love fried pickles but haven’t tried beer battered. Can’t wait!

  48. mreed911 says:

    Fantastic mix. I’ve had them cornflake battered, but not beer battered. This could be fun for a football tailgate!

  49. Jon says:

    looks delicious!

  50. Pingback: Queso Blanco Dip | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  51. So true! You cannot understand how delicious fried pickles are until you try them! You’ve inspired me to try and recreate the best ones I’ve had out at restaurants in my own kitchen.

    • This one is on my top to do list of guilty pleasures! I happen to love a good dill pickle every once in a while, and this recipe just sends it through the roof!!! This is a must for football season when the Ravens make it to the superbowl this year! Go Ravens! ( ‘Couldn’t resist! ) ‘Can’t wait to make deep-fried dill pickles!! I like the idea of serving it with a dipping sauce too, like in the picture! Yum!

  52. Pingback: Sloppy Joes | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  53. Pingback: Ultimate Spicy Beef Nachos | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  54. Pingback: Hot Spinach and Artichoke Dip | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  55. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Meatballs | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  56. Pingback: Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  57. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Bites | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  58. Pingback: Your one-stop shop for game day apps | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  59. Pingback: 25 Superbowl Recipes for Super Bowl XLVI | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  60. Pingback: Recipes for Super Bowl XLVI « Dishing Cupcakes with LaDolceBella

  61. Pingback: Sifting Through / Sussing Out | wake & gather

  62. Pingback: College Football Bites Roundup | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  63. Pingback: College Football Bites Roundup | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

