Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad

Looking for something to bring to a Memorial day cookout this weekend? Well I got you covered! This crowd pleasing summer time pasta salad is quick, easy and the excellent choice for pot lucks, cookouts and get togethers. Instead of a pasta salad loaded with tons of mayo, this pasta salad has a wonderful lemony dressing. Whole wheat pasta, slivers of parmesan cheese, toasted almonds, juicy cherry tomatoes, kalamata olives and zucchini are tossed with a lemony dressing that is just begging to be served at your next summer party.

Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds zucchini (about 4 small ones), sliced very thinly
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 13.5 ounce box of whole grain rotini pasta
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1/2 cup kalamata olives, cut in half
  • 1 1/2 ounces Parmesan cheese, thinly sliced with a peeler
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted and cooled (toast at 300˚ for about 10 minutes)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large basil leaves, cut into thin strips

Directions:

  1. Combine zucchini and 1 teaspoon of salt in a large colander set over a large bowl or in sink; let it sit for 20 minutes.
  2. Cook the pasta according to the package instructions in salted water; drain and cool.
  3. In a large bowl combine zucchini, cooled pasta, tomatoes, olives, cheese and almonds.
  4. In a small bowl whisk together olive oil, lemon juice, black pepper and salt together. Toss with salad and adjust seasonings to taste. Garnish with the basil leaves and serve.

Yields: 8 servings

Source: adapted from In the Kitchen with Kath, orginally from Smitten Kitchen

This entry was posted in Pasta, Side Dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad

  1. kate says:

    This dish makes me so excited for summer, I have a ton of zucchini in my fridge right now 🙂

  2. Yum! That looks so fresh and wonderful! I can’t wait until my first zucchini grows!

  3. sweetlife says:

    This would be perfect for this weekend!! we enjoy a great potluck!! thanks for sharing, added to our list!

    sweetlife

  4. Lena says:

    nice selection of ingredients for a delighting salad!

  5. I’m always looking for new potluck salad recipes for the summer. This one looks great, and I love that it has whole wheat noodles. The almonds are really different for a pasta salad but I bet they add great crunch.

  6. Jenny says:

    Wow this looks really tasty, I need to run out and get me some zucchini asap! 😀

  7. Cristina – this looks perfect for a summer BBQ. How do you do it? How do you find time to have a post everyday? You are such a superstar and so inspiring.

  8. I love that you used the spiral pasta! Sounds delish! If you get a chance check out the pasta salad I just posted…. I think you’ll like it!

    P.s. I’m loving your blog!

  9. I love making salads like this as a brown bag lunch. Yous looks fab!

  10. Michelle says:

    This looks just perfect for a summertime BBQ!

  11. Tina @ vanillandspice says:

    Everything in this salad works really well together, and I love that you added olives. This looks really good!

  12. Your Pasta is absolutely GORGEOUS!!!

  13. Caroline says:

    Love that there’s no mayo in this pasta salad–it always makes the dish too heavy, and of course, unhealthy! Substituting a light lemon dressing is a fantastic idea. 🙂

  14. gluttonandstudent says:

    This dish is perfect for summer, which isn’t so far away. I can’t wait to make it! I love the idea of tossing in toasted almonds – you’d never realize how much flavor they add.

  15. I love pasta salads!! I’ve never seen one call for almonds before, but I’m liking it. Might just have to save this one 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  16. I love the addition of slivered almonds to a pasta salad for crunch, I need to try that!

  17. This looks so fresh and delicious and perfect for a nice summer bbq!

  18. I’m always looking for a new pasta salad recipe. This looks awesome! I love the addition of kalamata olives. Thanks for sharing!

  19. The Teenage Taste says:

    Wow, this looks so yummy and so summer-y! I grow zucchini and tomatoes in my garden so this will be a snap to assemble – no grocery shopping required!

  20. Sara says:

    This looks wonderful, so colorful, and ideal for summer.

  21. Pingback: Zucchini and Almond Pasta Salad « Stu Station

  22. Pingback: Garden Zucchini Parmesan Biscuits | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  23. Pingback: S’more Pretzel Bites | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  24. Pingback: Lemon-Zucchini Loaf with Lemon Glaze | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

