Coffee Cream Brownies

Rich brownies topped with a creamy coffee buttercream frosting and a decadent chocolate ganache. So rich, so chocolately, so delicious! With three layers of deliciousness, how can you go wrong? The second I saw these brownies over at Crustabakes, I knew I had to make them. Yesterday we went over to a friend’s house for a barbecue and I knew that these would be the prefect dessert to bring.

Coffee Cream Brownies 

Printer Friendly Version

For the Brownies:

  • 1/2 cup butter, cubed
  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

For the Coffee Cream Filling:

  • 1 tablespoon heavy whipping cream
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar

For the Chocolate Ganache Glaze:

  • 1 cup ( 6 ounces ) semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup heavy whipping cream

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Butter the bottom and sides of a 8 inch metal baking pan. Put a long piece of parchment paper in the bottom of the pan, letting the parchment extend up two sides of the pan and overhang slightly on both ends. (This will make it easy to remove the bars from the pan after they have baked.) Butter the parchment.
  2. In a small, heatproof bowl, melt butter and chocolate together. Stir until combined and very smooth. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, sugar and vanilla extract. Add chocolate mixture and stir until smooth. Add flour and baking soda and stir until just combined and no streaks of dry ingredients remain.
  4. Spread into prepared baking pan. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.
  5. For the filling, in a small bowl combine cream and coffee granules. Stir until the coffee is dissolved.
  6. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment,  cream butter and confectioners sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in coffee mixture.  Spread over brownies.
  7. For the chocolate ganache, in a small saucepan over low heat combine chocolate and heavy cream. Cook and stir until chocolate is melted and mixture is thickened. Cool slightly. Carefully spread over filling. Let  chocolate gancahe set up completely before cutting.

Yields: 16 servings

Source: Crustabakes, originally from Taste of Home

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Coffee Cream Brownies

  1. These sound amazing. I always love adding espresso powder to brownies, so I know I would enjoy pairing them with a coffee cream.

  2. What a great idea! I love the coffee cream and chocolate ganache glaze! So delicious.

  3. crustabakes says:

    Thanks so much for the mention! i hope you and everyone else from the bbq enjoyed this!

  4. These brownies look amazing, no wonder you wanted to make them!

  5. These brownies look so decadent and delicious!!!!

  6. I love this! Coffee and chocolate are two flavors made to go together. Can’t wait to try these.

  7. Caroline says:

    Wow, these look so rich, moist and delicious! Yum.

  8. Ryan says:

    These look amazing! I know so many coffee lovers who would adore these (including myself). 🙂 They look so moist and delicious!

  9. Oh MY!!!! I want one, please!!! I love everything about these guys… this recipe will see my kitchen soon!!!

  10. Cara says:

    YUM! Chocolate and Coffee are always delicious together!

  11. Lena says:

    mmm, this must be divine. Coffee cream is delicious! also come by to let you know that i’ve posted the peanut butter truffles brownies today and had linked it back to yours. Have a great week , Christina!

  12. Oh my. You’re really pulling at my heart strings with this one! These look amazing and I love the idea of coffee cream.

  13. Shelby says:

    These look amazing…I am definitely keeping these locked in my memory and will have to try them soon!

  14. Oooh these look so sinful and I usually am not a fan a coffee but for these I would happily make an exception

  15. shabs says:

    Oh My !!! those brownies look so good and congratz on top 9 🙂

  16. Been offline for a little bit, so I’m playing catchup with your recipes. 😀

    The first thing I thought of when I saw these (other than “feed me one NOW!”) was Chocolate Mint Brownies. I like coffee, but I’d rather have a mint brownies. So I will take this recipe and force it into a mint version.

    You gave me some great gorund work to start with, thank you!!

  17. These look amazing and I will be making them today!

  18. Wow, so seriously, these look unbelievably amazing!

  19. alyce says:

    coffee and chocolate are two flavors that go so well together.

  20. I’ve seen a lot of brownies. In fact, I consider myself a brownie connoisseur, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a better looking brownie than these. They are brilliant!

  21. Sara says:

    Yum – coffee and chocolate is the perfect combination!

  22. Lucie says:

    These sort of remind me of a French Opéra cake–looks delightful!

  23. Um, yes please!! This looks insanely good! Makes me wanna take a bite and smile for the camera. :-p

  24. MonicaR says:

    Made these last night for a birthdayparty, converted it to metric and gave it a go (had to add more butter to the coffecream)..
    It did not disappoint 🙂
    Everyone loved it, and sneaked off for seconds/thirds/lost count 😀

    This recipe will make my list of recipes to bring out when I need something that will leave everyone awestruck 😉

    Thank you so much for sharing this!

  25. Pingback: Barbecued Baked Beans | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

