Creamy Baked Chicken Taquitos

These Creamy Baked Chicken Taquitos packed with shredded chicken, salsa, spices and two types of cheese are sure to become a regular meal at your dinner table. They are quick, delicious and so easy to make. Did I mention the best part? They are baked! So not only are they healthier than the traditional fried taquitos,  they still have that crispy crunch that we all love! These also freeze beautifully as well. Prepare them up to baking and the place in the freezer until firm, then wrap in plastic wrap. When you are ready to eat just place them on a baking sheet and bake..no need to thaw! Serve with salsa, sour cream, and guacamole for dipping! 🙂

Creamy Baked Chicken Taquitos

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
  • 3 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 teaspoon chile powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 3 tablespoons chopped scallions
  • 2 cups cooked and shredded chicken
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 8-12 (6-inch) corn tortillas
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cream cheese with the salsa, lime juice, cumin, chile powder, cayenne, onion powder, garlic, cilantro, scallions, and 1/4 tsp kosher salt.  Fold in the chicken and cheeses.  Taste and season with additional salt and pepper if necessary.
  3. Warm tortillas according to package directions until soft and pliable.
  4. Spoon 3 tablespoons of chicken filling onto the lower third of each tortilla and roll tightly.  Place seam side-down on the prepared baking sheet.  Repeat with remaining tortillas.
  5. Spray the taquitos lightly with cooking spray, sprinkle with kosher salt.  Bake 15-18 minutes, or until the tortillas are crisp and golden-brown.  Serve with salsa, sour cream, and guacamole.

Source: Pink Parsley originally from Our Best Bites

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chicken, Main Dish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Creamy Baked Chicken Taquitos

  1. beth says:

    oh my… those look delicious! can we have some of these after our race in a few weeks?!

  2. Taquitos remind me of college…but I love your baked, healthier version 🙂 These would definitely disappear quick at my house on appetizer night! Happy Easter 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    These look great and so easy to make!

  4. These look so delicious! I’d like to make them asap!

  5. Caroline says:

    These look so yummy! I really like the fact that they’re baked, not fried. Happy Easter!

  6. Jenny says:

    I love taquitos! But I’ve never made them before, definitely healthier than the frozen junk 😀 Love this

  7. Patricia says:

    Mmmmm….I love these…they look goooood!

  8. Shaz (Feedingmykidsbetter) says:

    Looks gorgeous. I think they might be perfect for a pre-dinner tapas too!

  9. muppy says:

    Oh my goodness these look incredible, what a fantastic recipe – yet another one i’ll have to try!

  10. What a great idea! I love the spices, this sounds so aromatic and tasty!

  11. Jun says:

    I’ve never taste these before! It looks so delicious!

  12. Oh this is so bookmarked! Looks so good and easy too!

  13. Sara says:

    I love this, and I can’t wait to try these!

  14. I LOVE taquitos! I rarely eat them though because they’re fried. What a great idea to bake them instead!

  15. Angela says:

    I just made these, and I found some Santa Fe flavored cream cheese at the store to replace the normal cream cheese. YUMMY! added some sautéed onions and garlic to the batch. DELISH! Thanks for the the idea!

  16. These look so so good…! Bookmarked and will definitely try the recipe. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  17. Pingback: Cheesy Mexican Chicken Salad « Our Life in Food

  18. Those look perfectly crispy and good!

  19. Annie says:

    I just made these and they are delicious! Thanks for the recipe, this is definitely a keeper.

  20. Sarah-Beth says:

    I made these for dinner last night and they turned out perfect! Best taquito I have ever had. I threw a little frozen corn in the chicken mixture and it gave it a sweet crunch 🙂

    I also just reheated a couple in the oven for lunch and they were just as good as last night!

  21. 4everlearning says:

    This recipe looks delicious. I would like to make it for a friend who eats Gluten-Free. Is this a gluten-free recipe?

    • Christina says:

      This recipe calls for corn tortillas which are known as being gluten free, however, I would double check the package of the tortillas just to make sure. I also believe that most brands of salsa are gluten free but make sure to read the label. If you give them a try I would love to hear how they turn out. 🙂

  22. Sharon says:

    OMG – I keep forgetting to leave you a message. My family loves these!! They are so good and even better on day two!! I make extra and freeze them for a quick supper or lunch.

    • Christina says:

      I make these all the time and freeze them! They are just perfect for those nights that I just don’t feel like cooking. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed them too! 🙂

  23. Pingback: 25 Superbowl Recipes for Super Bowl XLVI | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  24. Pingback: Recipes for Super Bowl XLVI « Dishing Cupcakes with LaDolceBella

  25. yolie says:

    I made these today, they came out so good, thanks for the recipe. 🙂

  26. Jennifer says:

    I made these tonight and they tasted FABULOUS! I also used the Philadelphia Sante Fe cooking cream instead of regular cream cheese as was mentioned in an earlier post, which was great. Mine didn’t look near as good as yours did though; they cracked/split open. Next time I will buy better quality tortillas from a local Mexican market and see if that helps. I also used 2-10 oz cans of chicken breast to make it a little easier…probably more than the 2 cups, which could have contributed to my bulging taquitos 🙂

  27. Stacey says:

    My fiance has been obsessed with Taquitos from the grocery store and they look scary and horribly unhealthy! So I had to try this recipe since we had leftover chicken and he loved it. I will be making these frequently now. Thanks for posting this recipe, it was great!!!

  28. Pingback: Corn and Black Bean Taquitos | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

