Coffee Cake Muffins

Coffee Cake Muffins with a delicious crumbly cinnamon streusel topping and drizzled with a powdered sugar glaze. There is really nothing better on a weekend morning than a freshly baked coffee cake. Now you can take a portable coffee cake with you even on a weekday! This on the go breakfast is perfect for anyone that complains that they don’t have time for breakfast. Next time you are thinking about skipping breakfast, reach for one of these incredible muffins instead!

Coffee Cake Muffins

Printer Friendly Version

For the Streusel Topping:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter, room temperature

For the Muffins:

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups sour cream

For the Milk Glaze:

  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 3 tablespoons milk

Directions:

  1. For the topping: In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, stir together the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt. Add the butter and toss with a fork to coat with the flour mixture. Mix on medium-low speed until the texture resembles coarse cornmeal, with the butter pieces no larger than small peas. Transfer mixture to a medium bowl and place in refrigerator for 30 minutes before using.
  2. Preheat oven to 350F. Line 24 muffin cups with muffin liners or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
  3. For the muffins: In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time,scraping down bowl as needed. Stir in vanilla extract by hand. Add flour mixture and sour cream and stir until just combined.
  5. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. Sprinkle half of the strudel mixture over the muffins, gently pressing it into the batter. Sprinkle evenly with remaining strudel mixture.
  6. Bake rotating the pans halfway through until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer pans to a wire rack to cool completely before removing muffins.
  7. To make milk glaze, whisk the powdered sugar and milk together in a small bowl.
  8. Place muffins on a wire rack set over a baking sheet and drizzle with glaze.

Source: adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes

This entry was posted in Breads & Muffins, Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. Those look damn tasty, Christina! I just finished having some toast with butter and honey for breakfast, but now I’m suddenly feeling hungry again. :-p Those look delicious! I love crumb toppings!

  2. jenna laughs says:

    I love love love cinnamon coffee cake. It’s so buttery and sweet and delicious. I was staring at that last picture and wanting to reach through the screen. YUM!

  3. Jeannie says:

    mmm…looks so delicious! your photos are so good!

  4. Monica says:

    I love anything with streusel topping; but that glaze drizzled on top makes these over the top. Gotta try this recipe. (I’m linking to this in my post today.)

  5. i think it’s time for your start your own bakery!!! 😀

  6. Linda says:

    My hubby is going to LOVE these muffins! I’m always making healthy muffins with all kinds of whole grains, fruits & nuts. He asks me when I’m going to make “regular” muffins. I think these will be perfect! Thanks!

  7. I need these. I actually need them. Too bad I can’t have them right now because I can barely swallow! This weekend though…oh yes. Thanks for sharing! I’ve never actually made coffee cake, but I’ve wanted to try. My kids are going to love these.

  8. yumtherapy says:

    These muffins look incredible! I love how the ingredients are pretty common…I think I have them all in my cupboard now. Definitely will be tackling this recipe soon 🙂

  9. Anita Menon says:

    Lovely as they look, I am sure they must taste amazing. They go right into my list of “to make”.

    I feel I can make them right away with all the normal ingredients that I have in my larder right now.

    Thanks for sharing.

    A lovely blog you have. I have been following it for some time and feel inspired each time.

  10. Rita says:

    The topping is super delicious! Looks like a crumble. 🙂

  11. Amy says:

    mmm, I’d def eat the top first 🙂

  12. homepodge says:

    The streusel topping is my favorite part of coffee cakes… and it looks like this recipe gives your lots of it. YUM! I can’t wait to try these straight out of the oven with some warm, gooey glaze 🙂

  13. Lucy says:

    These look like a perfect inspiration to get out of bed in the morning! Gorgeous.

  14. These look wonderful! Soo funny because I was looking at this recipe this past weekend. Will definitely have to try after seeing your amazing results!

  15. ooh these look so amazing I love the icing dripping off soo rustic and delicious!

  16. lena says:

    i would love to have this for breakfast now..nice pictures!

  17. muppy says:

    Yum, i love cinnamon, this sounds really good 🙂

  18. These look delicious! I love coffee cake, and in muffin form with a glaze I think I could eat quite a few 🙂

  19. Nummy! Portable things kind of make my life!
    Lovin’ it
    Jess : )

  20. Nina says:

    Christina, your blog is getting dangerous for my waistline! 🙂 These look heavenly. That streusel is perfect! These will go very fast in my house.

  21. Sara says:

    That cinnamon streusel topping looks so delicious! Sour cream coffee cake is one of my favorite foods!

  22. Ooohh… very nice. I love coffee cakes and streusel type cakes… they are my favorite and go so well with a cup of tea. The glaze is so simple, I will definitely be making these… bookmarked! 🙂

  23. Gosh that looks simply amazing daaaahling, its exactly the kind of thing I love. It is going into my book marks right away.
    *kisses* HH

  24. fooddreamer says:

    These muffins seriously look to-die for. Bring it on!

  25. lisamichele says:

    Oh, wow, these are a perfect muffin version of good ‘ole NY Coffee cake, which I think I grew up ont It was my main food group weekend mornings..lol The true test to perfect coffee cake is the ‘bumps’, and your muffins are chockful of ‘bumps’. I’m in lust and wanting to pull the ‘bumps’ off right this second 🙂 Bookmarking this for weekend bump gluttony! 🙂

  26. I am in love with Dunkin’ Donuts Coffee Cake Muffin. It’s bad news if I have a substitute I can make at home. I might as well pre-emptively enroll in Overeater’s Anonymous! These look awesome!

  27. You won me over with the cinnamon streusel!

  28. Oh.My.Gosh. Those sound AMAZING!!!! I love the Cinnamon Streusel on top! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  29. Pingback: [Muffin Fail, then] Muffin Win: Coffee Cake Muffins w/ Sweet Glaze « Yum! Therapy

  30. Pingback: Apology Muffins | db and jelly

  31. Stacie says:

    I made these and they are delicious! I think I may be doing something wrong though, because I don’t own a stand alone mixer, and I wonder if that was my problem. But they dough wasn’t as moist as I had hoped, and I also had that problem with the chocolate cookies with the peanut butter surprise… The dough was dryer than I hoped. Both tasted scrumptious and won’t stop me from making them again! 🙂 thank you!

    • Christina says:

      Stacie,
      Did you use a hand mixer to cream the butter, or did you do it by hand? Creaming the butter and sugar together properly is essential to making moist and airy muffins. You also have to be careful when mixing in the flour mixture and sour cream and stir only until just combined (streaks of flour remaining is ok). If you stir the batter too much it will cause the muffins to be very dense. If you give them another try I would love to hear how they turn out for you! 🙂

  32. Pingback: Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  33. Pingback: Strawberries ‘n Cream Scones | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  34. Tanya says:

    Super easy to make using simple ingredients. Just an FYI though, it may look like you have way too much streusel mixture but trust me you will need it all to get that topping to look like the picture. I made the mistake of not using it all so my topping was too thin 😦 Oh well, guess I’ll just have to make more tomorrow! Thanks for sharing this recipe Christina!

  35. Dayna says:

    Hi! I made these today. The cake part was good, but I did have a couple issues. I ended up with 12 regular-sized muffins, not 24 as mentioned in step 2 (which wasn’t really an issue since I had a small crowd). I also had way way way too much topping. Did you experience that? I would make these again, but with much less flour in the streusel.

Leave a Reply

