Tortilla Soup

Tortilla Soup is a flavorful Mexican soup with shredded chicken, corn, hominy, black beans, green chilies, and tomatoes. Topped with Monterey jack cheese, avocado, green onions, lime wedges, and crushed tortillas, this soup is sure to warm you up even on the coldest winter’s night. Unfortunately, the cold winter has returned to central Indiana. We were given a glimpse of spring for a few days, only to have the freezing rain and snow return to dampen our spirits. After work yesterday I ran my four miles outside and was so cold and hungry when I got back home, I needed something to warm me up! Something more than a hot bubble bath or shower was going to do. My mind was racing on what meal I could make that would be comforting and warming on such a cold day. I immediately remembered that I bookmarked this recipe a few weeks ago. Lucky for me I had all the ingredients needed to make this delicious soup….and let me tell you, it sure hit the spot! 🙂 Serve with a slice of buttery cornbread!

Tortilla Soup

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper, or to taste
  • 1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 (10.5 ounce) cans chicken broth
  • 1 cup whole corn kernels
  • 1 cup white hominy
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 boneless chicken breast halves
  • Tortilla chips, crushed
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • Green onions, chopped
  • 1 lime, cut into wedges

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in a medium stock pot over medium heat. Saute onion and garlic in until soft, about 5-7 minutes. Stir in chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper, tomatoes, broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in corn, hominy, chiles, beans, cilantro, and chicken. Simmer for 30 minutes. Remove chicken and shred. Return to pot and continue to simmer for an additional 30 minutes.
  3. Ladle soup into individual bowls and top with crushed tortilla chips, avocado slices, cheese, green onion and lime wedges.

Source: adapted from allrecipes.com

This entry was posted in Chicken, Soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Tortilla Soup

  1. Yum! My favorite soup! Looks so warm and delicious!

  2. jodi says:

    Perfect timing! I was just wondering what to do with last night’s leftover roast chicken. A trip to the store for some cheese and tortilla chips, and I’m all set. What a yummy looking soup — thanks!

  3. I think I’m going to make this for dinner tonight, minus the chicken. I’m home alone so a bowl & a spoon in front of TV, sounds perfect, thanks!!

  4. crustabakes says:

    I bet this would hit my spot bullseye! very very hearty and delicious looking! yumm

  5. Sara says:

    Mmm. I’ve been craving tortilla soup lately and this version looks perfect.

  6. lena says:

    i love hot, spicy soup ..believe that this must be really good!

  7. I am now hungry just from looking at the pictures. Yum.

  8. Yum! I love tortilla soup!

  9. You have a beautiful blog and I love reading!

    I would like to present you with the “One Lovely Blog “Award. Please drop by my site to pick it up when ever you are free.

    http://slab2626.blogspot.com/2011/02/one-lovely-blog-award.html

  10. Mary says:

    This is one of my favorite soups to serve at this time of year. It is warm and full of flavor without being heavy. I really like your recipe and think your photos are terrific. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  11. Christina you solved my dinner delima. It’s been one of those days at work and the whole week the weather has been little grumpy. I defiantly need something to warm me up from inside.

  12. This soup looks delicious! I love Mexican food and never get tired of it. Definitely need to try this soup. Yum!

  13. Sandra says:

    Love Tortilla Soup thanks for sharing your recipe.

  14. Loving the colors in your photos and the ingredients in your soup! I didn’t discover Tortilla Soup till I was in my 30’s, and I could eat it nearly every day. Nicely done!

  15. Food Frenzy says:

    Yum! I love this soup, although I don’t get to have it all that often.

    We invite you to share this post and some of your favorite posts on Food Frenzy.
    Please check out our community.

  16. kitchenarian says:

    This looks delicious. I am sure I have many opportunities of cold weather still ahead to make this. Thanks for the recipe!

  17. Felice says:

    Your photos are always so inviting. This recipe looks so delicious and I am looking forward to trying it.

  18. Kita says:

    My goodness don’t I love anything with a Mexican flavor. I haven’t tried a tortilla soup… yet 😀 this looks great!

  19. muppy says:

    This looks delicious 🙂 I’ll keep it for my winter. Our summer is still going strong….

  20. Rita says:

    Though my mother-in-law is Mexican I’ve never tried tortilla soup (she’s not a great cook, unfortunately…). I’ll save this recipe for my hubby, I’m sure he’ll appreciate it (avocado everywhere… :P)

  21. Liz says:

    What a beautiful bowl of deliciousness!

  22. Big Al says:

    This looks outstanding!!! Great photos, great recipe…I’, a lover of tortilla soups and this ones got my mouth watering… thanks for the posting!

  23. Yummy! I really love tortilla soups, this one sounds so great – especially with some buttered cornbread!

  24. Sharla says:

    We made this for dinner tonight, and it was a winner! My hubby & I loved it, and will be adding it to our regular rotation. Thanks!

  25. Amy says:

    This sounds delicious and I’ve been wanting to make tortilla soup! This will be the recipe I try 🙂

  26. Pingback: Soup’s On! A Soup Roundup! | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  27. Kris says:

    I made this tonight, it was delicious! Loved the flavor!

  28. Colleen says:

    Thanks for this great recipe. My family loves this soup.

  29. Marnie says:

    This soup is phenominal! I am telling everyone to try it. Even my picky eater loved it! And the best part is it’s gluten free too!

  30. Pingback: Homemade Egg Noodles | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  31. Teach_ELL says:

    I found you on Twitter and now I can’t wait to go to the grocery store and try some of your recipes! My husband just mentioned how he loved tortilla soup. We’ll be trying this soon!

Leave a Reply

