Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa

I grew up eating the traditional pork and sauerkraut as my birthday dinner every year. I used to hate it. I would cry, scream, and throw a hissy fit not wanting to eat this “good luck” meal. No matter how big of a fit I threw, my parents would always make me eat a bite. I hated it…most people get to eat their favorite meal on their birthday! But not me, since I was born on New Year’s Day I had no choice it was always the meal. Now that is not to say I didn’t get to have my favorite meal, it was just usually the following day. Things sure have changed since those days when I would go tearing through the house trying to get away from the “dreaded meal”. Now I make this for my family every New Year’s Day for good luck and I have to say it is really delicious. The flavors of sharp sauerkraut and sweet apples mingle together to create an extremely flavorful, melt in your mouth pork roast. I usually serve this with mashed potatoes and applesauce to create a wonderful “good luck” meal for the new year. Happy New Year everyone! 🙂

Don’t forget to check out Sweet Pea’s Kitchen Top 10 of 2010!

Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 (32 ounce) jar sauerkraut, drained, plus 1 1/2 cups sauerkraut (about 1/2 pound)
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon caraway seeds
  • 1 (2 pound) boneless pork loin roast
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 small onion, sliced thin
  • 2 Golden Delicious apples, peeled, cored, and cut into wedges
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup beer
  • 1 pound kielbasa, cut into 3-inch pieces

Directions:

  1. Cover the bottom of a slow cooker with the sauerkraut. Sprinkle with the brown sugar and caraway seeds.
  2. Season the pork loin roast generously with salt and pepper.
  3. Heat canola oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the pork and cook, turning frequently, until browned on all sides, about 10 minutes. Place the pork on top of the sauerkraut.
  4. Return the skillet to medium-high heat, add the onion, apples, thyme and garlic and sauté until the onion and apples are lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Transfer the apple mixture to the slow cooker and arrange around the pork.
  5. Return the skillet to medium-high heat, add the beer and bring to a simmer. Stir to dissolve the caramelized meat juices on the pan. Pour over pork loin in slow cooker. Top with remaining 1 1/2 cups of sauerkraut.
  6. Cover and cook on low until the pork is fork-tender and shreds easily, 8 to 10 hours. In the last hour of cooking, arrange kielbasa pieces around the edges of the slow cooker pot.

Source: adapted from Williams Sonoma

This entry was posted in Main Dish, Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa

  1. briarrose says:

    This takes me back. We used to have pork and sauerkraut every New Year’s Day at home. 😉 Amazing how taste buds change….it took me a long time to really appreciate the dish. Looks so tasty and I love the addition of the kielbasa.

    • Christina says:

      It took me a long time too, but now I really enjoy it! This recipe is nice because it has the sweet taste of apples to cut down on the sharp taste of the sauerkraut.

  2. This looks delicious! I love kielbasa and sauerkraut. Happy Belated Birthday too!!!

  3. KeepItSweet says:

    I actually love sauerkraut and might have to try this recipe! Happy belated birthday!

  4. ezsrecipes says:

    Yum! This looks so nice and hearty. My husband and I both love sauerkraut. This would be a winner for both of us!

  5. Dave says:

    Good for you! My wife and I had pork and sauerkraut on New Year’s day. This sounds pretty good, too. Here’s to a happy 2011.

  6. Happy early birthday and happy new year! Great looking plate.

  7. Pingback: Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms with Spinach and Goat Cheese | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  8. Lyn Gonzales says:

    what time of beer did u use for this recipe?

Leave a Reply

