Pumpkin Cornbread

I saw this recipe for pumpkin cornbread the other day and just about died! 🙂 Could it be? Pumpkin and corn bread together?! I just had to try it! I held onto this recipe, planning on making it later in the month of October. However, the thought of pumpkin cornbread got to me and I HAD to make it. I baked this wonderful cornbread to go along with our favorite chili. I served it along with the honey butter from my other corn bread recipe and it was amazing! Moist pumpkin corn bread sweetened with cinnamon, nutmeg and molasses then smeared with honey butter, an excellent accompaniment to any fall meal.

Pumpkin Cornbread

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease an 8×8″ cake pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, spices, brown sugar, and cornmeal; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, lightly beat the eggs, and then stir in the pumpkin, oil, and molasses.
  4. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients just until combined, and then pour the batter into the pan, smoothing the top.
  5. Bake 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Source: adapted from Sugarcrafter

This entry was posted in Breads & Muffins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Pumpkin Cornbread

  1. Tracy says:

    So glad you enjoyed it!! 🙂

  2. Evan @swEEts says:

    I can’t wait to try this! It’ll go perfectly with Cincinnati chili!!

    • Fran Schack says:

      I also love the Cincinnati chili and think this cornbread would be great with it. I plan to make this cornbread too… I live in NZ where pumpkins are in the supermarkets all the time.. they are small and green (but same on the inside). They can be baked and pureed as canned pumpkin is not sold here.

  3. I have NEVER thought of making pumpkin cornbread! The most creative thing EVER.

  4. soft delicious corn bread

  5. Karen says:

    Yum…great combo! Never would have thought of pumpkin and cornbread together. Sounds great with the honey butter!

  6. Maggie says:

    What I like best about this recipe is the low amount of fat. Pumpkin bread has a lot of oil in it. This is yummacious.

  7. Lisa says:

    Oh my gosh. Pumpkin and cornbread together in one. It looks so good I want a piece right now. Guess I need to go make a pumpkin run to the store ASAP.

  8. Iv never had cornbread before but it seems that it is something that is quite popular. I am going to make this and see what the craze is all about. I think its gonna be a hit!

  9. The combo of pumpkin & cornbread is just genius! Wish I had some with my morning coffee 🙂

  10. I just made this bread the other day. I loved it.

  11. jd says:

    Pumpkin + cornbread = love!

  12. Pingback: Pumpkin Fudge | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  13. I had a great idea this morning, I wanted pumpkin corn bread! I have never had it or seen a recipe for it but I knew it had to be possible. So I googled it and your recipe came up. I am so excited I am heading into the kitchen this minute to make it for dinner along with some chili, it is a cold rainy day here. Thanks for sharing!!!!

  14. Rosie Kourian says:

    Just made this! Made it vegan, using “flax eggs”. Fantastic!! Thank you very much for the brilliant recipe! All the best!

  15. Carolyn says:

    This looks delicious! I love pumpkin in everything, and I love cornbread, so I know I will like this. I think I may even make chili to go with it! Thank you!

  16. Kristen says:

    I made this tonight (and the honey butter) to go with some soup – it’s excellent. =) My husband liked it also. Win-win!

  17. Hobbes says:

    Just made this – it’s cooling on the stove right now. Smells amazing.

  18. Pingback: Garlic Naan and The Best of 2010 | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  19. Pingback: Pumpkin Roundup | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  20. Kate C says:

    Going to try this this weekend. How many servings does it make?

  21. Angela Knapp says:

    I spend HOURS on this site. I’m hooked! I just quit my job and am a stay at home mom now and I have become obssesed with cooking and baking in the last couple of weeks. I’m with wanting to make everything at once. I’ll just start off with some Orange Chicken! Thanks

    • Christina says:

      Angela,
      The orange chicken is an excellent one to start with…It is definitely one of my favorite recipes! 🙂 Let me know how it turns out for you!! 🙂

  22. Pingback: Texas Chili | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  23. Kathy D says:

    This is wonderful. I originally saw it from a friend but couldn’t find her email. Was surprised to find so many variations online. This is the first one I tried. Quick, tasty, crunchy on the outside, moist & soft on the inside.

  24. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Vegan (Pumpkin!) Cornbread | cookingandhooking.com

  25. I can hardly wait to try this! It looks and sounds sensational!!!

Leave a Reply

