Pumpkin Bread

Moist and spicy Pumpkin Bread spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves and pumpkin spice then drizzled with a spiced glaze. I had some spiced glaze left over from the pumpkin scones that I made this weekend and decided to drizzle it on top of this delicious bread. It was the perfect addition! 🙂 When my husband took the first bite of this bread he exclaimed, “this is the best bread ever!” I have to agree, I now have a new favorite quick bread. I will definitely be making this again and again this fall!

Pumpkin Bread

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

For the Pumpkin Bread:

  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice
  • 1 cup walnuts (optional)

For the Spiced Glaze:

  • 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 pinch ground ginger
  • 1 pinch ground cloves
Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour two 9×5 inch loaf pans.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, butter, water, sugars and vanilla until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, pumpkin spice and walnuts. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven 45-50 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  4. While the pumpkin bread is cooling, combine all of the ingredients for the spiced glaze. Drizzle over bread and allow the icing to dry before serving (about an hour).

Source: adapted from allrecipes.com

This entry was posted in Breads & Muffins, Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pumpkin Bread

  1. Joy says:

    Ohhhh Pumpkin bread. I love the glaze.

  2. That is absolutely beautiful!

  3. Tarrah Dame says:

    yum yum yum! the glaze on your bread looks wonderful! just made pumpkin bread myself, love the stuff! 🙂
    http://damegoodeats.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Fudge | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  5. Christine says:

    I was online looking for a frosting or glaze for my pumpkin bread and came across your page. I just made this glaze and want to tell you I love it! Thanks for sharing and Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin Roundup | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Mini Spiced Plum Galettes | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  8. ashley says:

    This looks amazing! Planning on making it tomorrow:) How many loaves does this recipe make?
    Also did you fill the pan almost to the top or half way? Thanks for a great recipe!!!

    • Christina says:

      Ashley,
      This recipe makes two 9×5 inch loaves. Divide the batter evenly among the two pans. I hope you enjoy this recipe…it is one of my favorite recipes to make this time of year! 🙂

  9. Angela Knapp says:

    I made this this morning! They are cooling on my counter right now and my whole house smells AMAZING! the spiced glaze is amazing …Its a suprise for my Fiance for his birthday today. Hes going to love them!

  10. Lisa says:

    OMG I made this today and it is wonderfully awesome! The glaze was just the right addition too!

  11. Like you I am in love with pumpkin! I posted above last year regarding this awesome glaze! I just finished baking pumpkin bread and the glaze truelly is amazing and enhances the flavor of the pumpkin bread! I love all of your recipes! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Pingback: Lemon-Blueberry Yogurt Loaf | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

