Corn Bread with Honey Butter

So fall is just around the corner and everyone needs a go to recipe for corn bread. This one is mine! I have been making this delicious corn bread for years. Everyone that I have served it to have always raved about how delicious it is. There are so many meals that I make that I feel are just not complete without a giant piece of cornbread smothered with honey butter. It is perfect to serve with chili, ham, stews, ribs, barbecue…I could keep going! ๐Ÿ˜‰ This sweet and moist corn bread dripping with delicious honey butter is sure to become a favorite on your dinner table.

Corn Bread with Honey Butter

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

Corn Bread:

  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1 1/3 cups milk

Honey Butter:

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup honey

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease an 8 inch square cake pan.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer with the flat beater attached, beat together sugar, salt, butter and vanilla until creamy. Stir in eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and cornmeal. Stir flour mixture into egg mixture alternately with the milk. Beat well until blended.
  3. To make honey butter, in a small bowl, mix butter and honey until smooth. Set aside.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes, or until golden brown. Serve warm with honey butter.
Source: adapted from allrecipes.com
This recipe and photo was published in the Dallas Examiner on October 29, 2010
This entry was posted in Breads & Muffins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Corn Bread with Honey Butter

  1. I can tell just how moist that corn bread is from the photos – it looks fantastic! Especially with the honey butter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Catherine says:

    Hi, Wow I’m in love, that corn bread loaf looks so delicious! Going to try out this recipe this week ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!~!~!
    Cathi

  3. Catherine says:

    Well, I couldn’t wait! So I went ahead and made corn bread this eveing.
    ~~So Delicious! ๐Ÿ˜€ Loved it, thanks!!!!!!!!!

  4. Pingback: Hearty Chili Con Carne | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Cornbread | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin Pancakes | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  7. Susan says:

    In what type of pan do you recommend baking this?

  8. Pingback: Sweet Potato Biscuits | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  9. Tracy says:

    I just baked this tonight and my husband loves it. How would you recommend storing it so it stays moist but not mushy?
    Thanks!

    • Christina says:

      Tracy,

      I am so glad that you guys enjoyed the corn bread! It is my husbands favorite as well and he always requests it when I make soup or stew. I keep my leftover cornbread covered in an airtight container and have never had any problems with it becoming mushy.

      Thanks for commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚
      ~Christina

  10. Paigeyy says:

    YUM!! Love the honey butter haha

  11. Pingback: Honey Cornbread Muffins | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  12. Pingback: Thanksgiving: Time for Breaking Bread

  13. Pingback: Beef and Pinto Bean Chili | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  14. Rebekah says:

    i was wondeing how it would go making cornbread muffins instead of loaf?

    looks to die for by the way ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Christina says:

      I have never made these as muffins, but you can. I bet they would taste delicious too! I would decrease the baking time to 12 to 14 minutes. Let me know how they turn out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Pingback: Buttermilk Cornmeal Biscuits | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  16. Pingback: Buttermilk Cornmeal Biscuits | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  17. Pingback: Overnight Steel Cut Oatmeal | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  18. Pingback: Savory Southwestern Cornbread | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  19. Pingback: Hearty Lentil Soup | Sweet Pea's Kitchen

  20. Shelly says:

    I made this corn bread last night and it was amazing. My husband loved it and told me to make it again…that almost never happens since everytime I try something new it’s a disaster. Thanks for such a great and easy recipe.

Leave a Reply

