Peanut Butter Nutella Swirl Chocolate Chip Cookies

Lately I have been having major cravings for peanut butter and Nutella. I have usually been able to curb my craving by dipping a few apple slices into peanut butter and then some Nutella. Well that all went out the window when I saw a recipe for Peanut Butter Nutella Cookies on Pinterest. (Have I mentioned how much I love Pinterest? If we don’t follow each other we definitely should. I am finding all sorts of goodies to make and eat. :) ) These cookies are fabulous! At the last-minute I threw in some chocolate chips just for an extra dose of deliciousness. It was a great idea! The melty chocolate chips combined with creamy peanut butter and rich Nutella is just out of this world! As I read the comments from the original recipe I saw that a few people complained that the cookies spread a bit too much while baking and came out flat. To help with the spreading I decided to chill the dough in the fridge a few hours (actually overnight) and that did the trick. These were anything but flat! Thick and chewy peanut butter cookies with crisp edges, tons of chocolate chips and swirls of Nutella. Seriously, does it get any better than that? ;) Happy weekend everyone!

One Year Ago: Baked Pears                                          

Two Years Ago: Chicken with Peach & Apple Salsa 

Peanut Butter Nutella Swirl Chocolate Chip Cookies

Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:

  • 1 ⅓ cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons Nutella
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter, peanut butter, sugar and brown sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add egg, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Add vanilla extract and beat until combined. Reduce speed to low and add flour mixture, beat to combine. Add chocolate chips and mix until incorporated. Shape into a 12 inch square on top of a large sheet of plastic wrap. Drop Nutella in 8 dollops all over the dough. Using a butter knife, swirl the Nutella into the cookie dough. Be careful not to swirl too much, you want to see the swirls. Wrap tightly in the plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours or overnight.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  4. Roll a heaping tablespoon of dough into a 1½-inch ball between your palms and then place it on the prepared baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough, spacing the balls about 2 inches apart (you should be able to fit 12 cookies on each sheet). Using your palm, gently flatten the dough balls until they are about ¾ inch thick.
  5. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Let cookies cool on sheets for 2 minutes before transferring cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

Yields: 2 1/2 dozen
Prep Time: 3 hours and 15 minutes (includes chilling time)
Bake Time: 10 minutes

Source: adapted from The Sisters Cafe

**Don’t forget that I will be launching a new website design on August 31! Those of you that are wordpress.com subscribers, unfortunately your subscriptions will not transfer over when I make the move. Make sure you sign up for my RSS feed so you don’t miss a single recipe! If you currently subscribe by email, you don’t have to do a thing…you will still continue to get recipe updates straight to your inbox! :D

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Peanut Butter Nutella Swirl Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. OK, I’m going to follow you on Pinterest, because I pin a lot of your recipes any way!
    I LOVE Nutella and PB too, can’t wait to try these.

  2. Seriously, peanut butter AND Nutella? Why not just add Biscoff spread while you’re at is and I might just die. Awesome cookies!

  3. Fayeyvonne says:

    Yummy combination! We’re on the same wavelength…I just made Peanut Butter Banana Nutella Bars.

  4. Regina says:

    Hi Christina, these look awesome, But-I need a bigger glass of that milk…

  5. Ohhh soo yummy! We always have a surplus of Nutella and peanutbutter at our house because I’m pretty sure my boyfriend is literally addicted to them, so it will be nice to have something new to do with it!

  6. ashley says:

    oh man….two of my favorite things…Nutella and peanut butter! Pinterest is the best!

  7. kat says:

    You always manage to come up with the most yummy cookie creations!

  8. overtimecook says:

    These cookies look fabulous! I need to try this amazing combination!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Nutella, peanut butter AND chocolate chips? Christina, you’re killing me here!

  10. Medeja says:

    Peanut butter and Nutella together sounds so interesting and so delicious!

  11. Sally says:

    I CANNOT get enough of that Nutella swirl, Christina! PB & Nutella are a match made in heaven. So glad you made cookies with it because cookies are my weakness. ;)

  12. Lovely cookies.. now I have a vehicle for my nutella.. no more spoon washing, lol! I think these are perfect for a quick snack!

  13. Anything with Nutella wil find it’s way onto the menu sooner oro later and these look like sooner. Great combo Nutella and Peanut butter.

  14. Two of my favorite addictions in one cookie? I have a feeling that, if I made them, I would eat the whole batch… mwahahaha! :-D

  15. Those look scrumptious! I’m allergic to chocolate, so I’m thinking Biscoff, my new obsession, would make a great substitute for the Nutella.

  16. Christina says:

    Umm, these sound divine! Yum!

  17. jen laceda says:

    Now, that’s what I call a cookie! A scrumptious, delightful cookie! I wanna be a cookie monster and gobble it all up!

  18. Pure deliciousness! I love peanut butter and nutella so I imagine these are divine! Have a great week!

  19. Lola Velasco says:

    La combinación de sabores debe ser un lujo para el paladar ¡Fantásticas estas galletas que te han quedado riquísimas y perfectas.
    ¡Feliz tarde de domingo!

  20. I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for such a long time. PB and nutella are a fantastic combination! And a couple of these cookies would be just the perfect start to this morning. :)

  21. I’m crazy about Pinterest, too! :)
    The cookies are yummy! I mean come on… pb, nutella, cookie… can’t go wrong with that combo.

  22. Oh my these sound awesome!!

  23. JulieD says:

    oh wow, pb and nutella…yay! These look so good!

  24. How could someone not love pinterest, peanut butter and nutella?
    I’m addicted to all three of them and these cookies would have no change around me!

  25. Yummmmm!!! I made a gluten free version of these a few weeks ago, such a great flavor combination!

  26. I knew I followed you for a reason. I soooo love nutella! I mention it A LOT on my FB page and blog, so this recipe is a keeper!!! I jsut made PB and Nutella Rice Krispy treats yesterday that I posted you should check those out too!

Leave a Reply

