Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Here’s one coffee cake to put on the menu for this coming weekend! Moist and tender sour cream coffee cake with a cinnamon pecan swirl running through the center and sprinkled on top. Despite the name, this cake doesn’t actually have coffee in it and is not coffee-flavored, but is a cake that’s meant to be eaten while having coffee. Thanks to the sour cream, this cake is melt-in-your-mouth fabulous! The perfect way to kick-start your busy day! So get that coffee pot going…you have some delicious cake to eat! ;)

One Year Ago: Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers 

Two Years Ago: Cranberry Orange Scones    

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Printer Friendly Version

For the Cake:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 (16 ounce) container of sour cream, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon  vanilla extract

For the Filling/Topping:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Grease a 9×13 inch square baking pan and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Beat in eggs and vanilla until combined. Gradually add the flour mixture alternately with sour cream, beginning and ending with flour mixture. (The batter will be thick)
  4. To make the topping/filling: In a small bowl combine the sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon and pecans; set aside.
  5. Spread half of the batter evenly into prepared baking pan and sprinkle with half the cinnamon-sugar topping. Spoon the remaining batter in 8 dollops over the batter in the pan and spread gently. Sprinkle with the remaining cinnamon-sugar mixture. Bake until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes. Let the cake cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before serving.

Yields: 12 servings
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Bake Time: 35 minutes

Source: adapted from Gimme Some Oven

**Don’t forget that I will be launching a new website design on August 31! Those of you that are wordpress.com subscribers, unfortunately your subscriptions will not transfer over when I make the move. Make sure you sign up for my RSS feed so you don’t miss a single recipe! If you currently subscribe by email, you don’t have to do a thing…you will still continue to get recipe updates straight to your inbox! :D

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sour Cream Coffee Cake

  1. jeannine says:

    Thanks for this coffee cake recipe. I need to bake one for our Church social in Sept. This looks so good, that I think everyone will enjoy eating a piece.

  2. I love a good, classic coffee cake (especially with pecans)- this one looks perfect!

  3. wow looks great! That would sweeten my coffee time for sure. I d even have it as a breakfast for a change. ^.^ thx for sharing!

    You are moving to worpress.org?

  4. You’re leaving me so hungry … and craving cake very early on in the day ;) what a recipe!!

  5. Mary Moh says:

    Mmmm….that looks so good. I want a big piece and a big scoop of ice cream now :D

  6. Fayeyvonne says:

    Now that’s my idea of a coffee cake. It looks so delicious. I want a slice right now!!

  7. RavieNomNoms says:

    I love sour cream cake, especially when it is coffee cake. This looks awesome!

  8. mathilde verbon-janssen says:

    I like to make this for our family get together on September 8th. There are about 70 people coming. Is it possible to freeze the cake?

    • Christina says:

      I have never tried freezing this particular coffee cake, but I don’t see any reason why you shouldn’t be able to. I would make sure you wrap it tightly in plastic wrap and then place in a heavy-duty freezer bag. If you give this recipe a try I would love to hear how it turns out for you! :)

      • mathilde verbon-janssen says:

        I will let you know! I am going to make this cake tonight :) thanks for your answer

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    As good as muffins, breakfast barrs, granola, and smoothies are in the morning, a piece of coffee cake remains my favorite. This one is a keeper!

  10. Hubby loves sour cream coffee cake. I love baking with walnuts when the fall approaches and this cake sounds like a great fall treat

  11. I love sour cream coffee cake! This looks so moist! It’s nice that it’s baked in a 9 by 13 instead of a traditional Bundt pan so that it will serve more people.

  12. Monet says:

    Yep…it’s on the must-bake list. What a great way to start a weekend morning! Thank you for sharing this with me. It looks dense and sweet. Just the way I like them!

  13. Oh yummmm I love coffee cake! But I usually forget about it until the occasional Sunday morning church coffee… saving this recipe away for later!

  14. Good luck on your new website! I will be trying this cake for one of my volunteer days this month.. it looks nice and soft!!

  15. Livebakelove says:

    i love coffee cake! what a great way to start the day :-)

  16. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Your coffee cake looks very moist and delicious. Until coming to the States, I didn’t know about coffee cake and for the longest time I really thought coffee cake has coffee in it! It is a perfect cake to have with a coffee and that reminds me – breakfast/brunch place near in my neighborhood serves blueberry coffee cake instead of other bread option! I gotta go there this weekend! I love your coffee cake with sour cream. Such an unique and delicious recipe!

  17. ashley says:

    I love how sour cream makes cakes so soft and moist! I’m a big fan of coffee cakes…any time of the day, really.

  18. Definitely can’t go wrong with this!

  19. Holy cow, look at that dough! Awesome looking cake.

  20. This looks really yummy! I would make it but have to leave out the nuts. I am allergic.

  21. I adore sour cream coffee cake. This looks so moist!

  22. mathilde verbon-janssen says:

    Hi Christina,

    I made the cake yesterday but it didn’t turn out as the photo :( When I wanted to make the cake I discovered that I didn’t have all purpose flour so I used self raising flour instead. I thought perhaps it would make the cake only bigger. The result was a cake that rose a bit and slumped down. Taste was good and moist but it looked like it didn’t raise at all. The temp at 360 F is 180C over here. This temp is for a plain oven and not circulation oven? Anyway I will have to try again …

    • Christina says:

      I hate to hear that this recipe didn’t turn out for you! Did you also add the baking powder and baking soda along with the self rising flour? If so, that was most likely the reason it sank. As counter-intuitive as it might sound, adding too much leavening agents will cause it to sink because it creates too much air within the cake than it can support. If you give it a try with the regular flour I would love to hear how it turns out! :)

Leave a Reply

