Lemon-Zucchini Loaf with Lemon Glaze

We have more zucchini than I know what to do with. So after making numerous salads, soups, muffins, biscuits, breads and brownies, I really needed a new zucchini recipe to try. When I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest I immediately ran into the kitchen and whipped up a loaf. The recipe and pictures looked so different from the traditional zucchini bread that I am used to making, I was intrigued by what the results would taste like. I barely let the lemon drizzle dry before I was devouring a piece. It tasted even better than I thought it would! Bursting with lemony flavor, this melt in your mouth lemon-zucchini loaf will leave you begging for more!

One Year Ago: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies 

Two Years Ago: Apple Strudel                                           

Lemon-Zucchini Loaf with Lemon Glaze

Printer Friendly Version

For the Loaf:

  • 1 cup grated zucchini (leave the skin on and use the small holes of the grater)
  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • Juice of 1 lemon (about 2 tablespoons lemon juice)
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (about one lemon)

For the Lemon Glaze:

  • 1 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease bottom and sides of one 9 x 5-inch loaf pan; dust with flour, tapping out excess.
  2. Place the freshly grated zucchini in a fine mesh strainer over a bowl to drain excess liquid  while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together the sugar and eggs until smooth, about a minute. Add the oil, vanilla extract, buttermilk, lemon juice and lemon zest and beat until smooth, about 30 seconds. With a rubber spatula, fold in the shredded zucchini. Add the flour to the zucchini mixture in 3 additions, stirring until just combined after each addition.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake 45 to 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing loaf to cool completely on a wire rack on top of a baking sheet.
  6. To make the lemon glaze, in a small bowl, whisk together the confectioners’ sugar and 2-3 tablespoons of the lemon juice. The mixture should be thick but pourable. Add up to another tablespoon of lemon juice if the mixture is too stiff. Pour the lemon glaze over the top of each loaf and let it drip down the sides. Let the lemon glaze harden, about 15 minutes, before serving.

Yields: one 9×5″ loaf
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Bake Time: 55 minutes

Source: adapted from Nancy Creative

**Don’t forget that I will be launching a new website design on August 31! Those of you that are wordpress.com subscribers, unfortunately your subscriptions will not transfer over when I make the move. Make sure you sign up for my RSS feed so you don’t miss a single recipe! If you currently subscribe by email, you don’t have to do a thing…you will still continue to get recipe updates straight to your inbox! :D

This entry was posted in Breads & Muffins, Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Lemon-Zucchini Loaf with Lemon Glaze

  1. This looks and sounds amazing. It didn’t even look like there is zucchini in it! A must try for me :D Thanks got the recipe! Monica, from Sweet Heat Chefs

  2. Oh just go ahead and kill my diet attempts with this but then again it has veggies in it so that makes it healthier, right? :)

  3. Payje says:

    You have such delicious food!!! I think if I tried to cook everything in your recipe index it would take me a year!

  4. i love the problem of too much zucchini :) i recently made a lemon zucchini bread, but also included rosemary (bc I have too many herbs right now!)

  5. I like this zucchini loaf recipe because the past 2 I have used called for 2 CUPS of sugar and I felt too guilty about it. This is much more reasonable :)

  6. RavieNomNoms says:

    Oh my word, that lemon glaze really looks delightful! What a yummy loaf!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Gosh, Christina, does this ever look good! It’s that citrus glaze. I’m such a sucker for a citrus glaze.

  8. Michael Ann says:

    Oh wow, yea, never seen lemon and zucchini combined. The loaf even looks totally diff than traditional. I still need to make the chocolate zucchini loaf but I might try this one first because I have a lot of lemons too. Thank you!

  9. Kathleen says:

    What a delicious way to enjoy zucchini!

  10. gwynnem says:

    I just turned away a perfectly good zucchini today because I couldn’t think of something unique and dessert-y to make with the vegetable. Citrus-infused sweets are some of my favorites. Good post!

  11. ashley says:

    MAKING THIS! I love the lemon glaze!

    P.S. Can’t wait to see the new website design

  12. Jody Thompson says:

    Yummy!!

  13. vintagesugarcube says:

    that loaf looks ahhhhmazing! I haven’t made a zucchini bread yet this summer and I MUST try this recipe. I like that it’s a little different from the rest. :)

  14. Ooh! I love lemony things. Can you taste the zucchini at all? I know cocoa powder covers it up, but does the lemon? I have a zucchini left after making zucchini cake so maybe I’ll try this!

  15. This almost looks like a cross between Zucchini bread and a pound cake! Yum! :-D

  16. I absolutely adore zucchini bread. that lemon drizzle on top just makes this perfect!

  17. Christina! This reminds me of your blueberry lemon loaf. That icing… omg… I could bathe in it! I haven’t had zucchini bread in AGES. Yours looks so moist, rich, and soft. I could go for a slice right now with my coffee instead of this granola bar I’m eating!

  18. What a refreshing summer cake, love the zucchini in it!

  19. Nom, nom, nom… Christina, this looks so much more appetizing the traditional brown-ish zucchini bread. Nice!

  20. Katie says:

    I’ve been making chocolate zucchini bread (it’s on my blog) this will be a nice change. Love lemon

  21. Love the drizzle pictures! Such a beauty!

  22. Made it – it was super awesome, and moist.

  23. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    I always love the shot of icing running down the cake. It’s one of mouthwatering shot! Always love lemon glaze – zucchini loaf sounds “healthy” enough for me to eat this for breakfast, yes with lots of icing please! :D

  24. This looks so good! Lemon is one of my favorite flavors for baked goods and I love the idea of combining it with zucchini bread. Yum!

  25. Stacy says:

    Made this yesterday and it is so delish! My hubby is a huge lemon fan and this really hit the spot for him. Much denser than many lemon breads and not overly sweet. Will definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

